Wyze Doorbell Installation and Review - Is it Any Good?

  Views 48,575

DoItYourselfDad

Month ago

The cheapest smart doorbell on the market so far! The Wyze doorbell has been long-awaited, but is it any good?
Check out all of Wyze's products here: amzn.to/3dk9WBH
If it's not on amazon yet, it'll be on the wyze website: www.wyze.com
Check out our other wyze videos:
Wyze Cam setup OUTDOORS: usposts.info/vision/qr-spsfHnq-sh7Y/video​
Torture testing Wyze Cams: usposts.info/vision/g9ravdesfp-Ib9g/video​
We stuck a wyze cam pan outside: usposts.info/vision/p9jTpcu5fnyyZ7o/video​
Wyze Bulbs: usposts.info/vision/aru41bClhZCdpa4/video​​
Wyze Sense: www.youtube.com/watch?v=fb-BF​...
Improve your wyze cams night vision: usposts.info/vision/nqqxz7HXb4uufrY/video​
Wyze locks will be available soon here: amzn.to/30eRMsB​
Wyze Lock review and install: usposts.info/vision/gJ2y0cOdsKmSY5U/video​
Support us on Patreon and get exclusive content: www.patreon.com/doityourselfdad
Get this, and all the things we've used on DoItYourselfDad here: amzn.to/2z8Yly0
As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Clicking on the links above helps support the channel and helps us provide you with more quality content. We thank you for your support.
Follow us on Facebook: DIYourselfDad
Check out my awesome daughters kids cooking channel: usposts.info/level/eJ5nh3lh33ZcriqB9ut2lg.html
CarDIY, our car repair and Do It Yourself channel: usposts.info/level/ML5MOuinlJ2yN1BvotxwXA.html

Comments
Dane-Jah
Dane-Jah Day ago
So installed one of these about a week ago and I have had ZERO latency issues on notifications and the video pulls up within 3 seconds for me typically unless I'm in a bad service area for my phone. I was satisfied and sold my ring doorbell and am sticking with the Wyze. I am now actually able to answer my doorbell before people leave.
RONNIE .THOMAS
RONNIE .THOMAS 2 days ago
what doorbell without the monthly fee do you recommend?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 2 days ago
I’d go with a Eufy doorbell.
G H
G H 3 days ago
Thank you for the review have been considering the Wyze doorbell. At 9:50 when plugging in the door bell chime what's the gadget below it?
G H
G H 3 days ago
@DoItYourselfDad Thank you
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 3 days ago
That’s the hub for the Wyze door lock.
R C
R C 8 days ago
Why is the chime box disabled?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 7 days ago
To supply constant power to the new doorbell.
DoobitHezki yy
DoobitHezki yy 8 days ago
Thanks for your valuable video. Does it have the option to record video on a SD card?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 8 days ago
Unfortunately no
The Unsophisticated Platypus
The Unsophisticated Platypus 9 days ago
How do you fix the stucco?
J S
J S 9 days ago
I hope you saved that old door bell, it is probably worth something
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 3 days ago
@erik61801 It sure is, and I can't stand cooking on electric stove tops too.
erik61801
erik61801 6 days ago
My grandma had a house in central illinois with that as well. I guess sometime in the 70s a natural gas line came to the area and the house was retrofitted for gas heat and hot water. Electric heat is expensive!
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 9 days ago
Absolutely!
Raj Singh
Raj Singh 11 days ago
How does this compare to a ring doorbell?
will d
will d 13 days ago
My Wyze doorbell cam has failed after about a week. It keeps shutting off and on along with the WYZE light. It will not connect anymore.
KSC65
KSC65 13 days ago
Detection zone is working now. Never buy a Eufy camera. Had 2 in 6 months. They are terrible.
Lee Cruse
Lee Cruse 18 days ago
No need. It works with a micro usb to function. Search it
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 18 days ago
True, but running a usb cable to a place that already has existing wiring is going to be much more work than this.
Geoff Kim
Geoff Kim 18 days ago
Detection zone selection is now available for the doorbell cam in the latest software update from Wyze.
Calvin Chambers
Calvin Chambers 20 days ago
I think this guy is asking for a LOT of features for a $30 video doorbell. Ring is ~100 to 300, Eufy is ~ 160. This Wyze doorbell doesn't require a monthly fee either.
Fitzboden
Fitzboden 21 day ago
I’ve had my Wyze Doorbell installed for three weeks, if someone rings the doorbell I’m notified but it misses package deliveries about 75% of the time. I threw my Wyze Outdoor camera in the garbage because of latency issues.
GO RED KNIGHT
GO RED KNIGHT 22 days ago
Would like to see the zoning area being put back on as I have people walking by all the time, but with the zoning it would only start when a person actually gets into my zone and it would definitely work a lot better for me with other new kits coming out all the time. PS loved the old door bell
TheMr3742
TheMr3742 23 days ago
Is it easy to steal?
TheMr3742
TheMr3742 23 days ago
@DoItYourselfDad yikes 😬
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 23 days ago
Yup
teitake
teitake 24 days ago
Since you are walking up to your door, I wonder if your phone is taking time accessing the WIFI which leads to even longer delay. Or did you have the WIFI turned off on the phone for the test? Would there be any difference if you left your phone by the door and see how much delay there is?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 24 days ago
Not an issue. I’ve got repeaters in the garage which is where I’m walking from.
B S
B S 24 days ago
What bothers me is that you've just secured the mount to your house with screws and anchors, but you've "secured" your smart device with some tiny plastic clips and a couple of small wires. What's to keep the thief or whoever from just ripping the expensive part off and walking away with it. I know it won't be of much use on the secondary market, but you're out the cost of a replacement. Don't know if other smart doorbells have this same issue. And at least the Wyze won't set you back a lot of $$ to replace. I do wish Wyze would step up their development efforts. Features and bug fixes are on one of the longest roadmaps I've ever witnessed and this appears to be a long-standing issue for them according to the history on their forums. But at the price point their products are pretty on-point. -Wyze Cam v3 owner
oldtwins na
oldtwins na 23 days ago
Very few would try to swipe them. Much more likely to have porch pirates or just the traditional thieves trying to find a way into the home.
Robert Greenhouse
Robert Greenhouse 25 days ago
A porch pirate will not ring your bell, so the light coming on is a good thing, but they could be long gone when you get the alert
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 24 days ago
Yup, that’s the issue.
Crunkbeast
Crunkbeast 26 days ago
Could the latency issue be a lag between your wifi connection since youre outside of the house? I would redo the experiment but turn off wifi and use your phones data and see how long the motion detection takes. Great video btw
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 25 days ago
Definitely isn't an issue, I have repeaters in the garage, which is where I was walking from when I approach the front door.
graphicsgod
graphicsgod 26 days ago
Nice, but why does it force you to keep the "chime box" if it comes with its own?!? It should allow you to replace your old one for theirs! Kinda weird keeping it and having to use one that is taking up an outlet.. If they are going to go that route, they should make it so that you can install it for a residence without any doorbell.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 25 days ago
It doesn't force you to keep it, you're actually bypassing it.
Crash Creeley
Crash Creeley 26 days ago
Don't count on the software at all... it's pretty crap... I have it installed on a tablet that its only job is to monitor my cameras and the software crashes every 20 minutes... and if you lose internet, forget about ANY of your Wyze products functioning...
graphicsgod
graphicsgod 26 days ago
Yeah I have two cameras, and when the internet goes out, they stop working..
Allen
Allen 29 days ago
This doorbell isn't going to be very useful without the cam plus subscription. The cam v3 with their zone still had a ton of false alerts without the subscription. I broke down and added it to my cams. I preordered the doorbell last year. Didn't know it was so featureless. Granted... the price is really low. Definitely, not as useful as the Nest.
Zaphod Beeblebrox 1st
Zaphod Beeblebrox 1st 29 days ago
Can you try the notification again with WiFi off (fully off not just iOS disabled)? It's likely that the motion detection was delayed if your phone was joining the WiFi right as it tried to notify you.
Bill Jenkins
Bill Jenkins Month ago
Those things inside the breaker panel are commonly known as circuit breakers.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
How about we split the difference and call them resettable fuses?
Mr_Jman93
Mr_Jman93 Month ago
They released new firmware and an app update that allows for detection zones!
Mr_Jman93
Mr_Jman93 28 days ago
@DoItYourselfDad I am not on Beta. Normal release channel. New firmware released 3-8-21. I am on the iOS app. Took an app update too for it to show up. When you go detection settings, it takes a few seconds to show up below the sensitivity slider. wyzelabs.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360024852172-Release-Notes-Firmware
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Im running the latest firmware and app and don't see any detection zones. Is that it beta?
Gabriel Ho
Gabriel Ho Month ago
Great review! Thanks. I will play with my doorbell soon and this gives a better understanding ahead to us. Great job! And yes, I hope the detection latency will be lesser after furure software or firmware updates.
Blue Steel
Blue Steel Month ago
On back of doorbell says 16 to 24 volts ac. My son's doorbell measures at 13 volts ac. So is it a no go for his house, what do you all think? I started to hook his up but measured voltages at chime cause i was wondering what voltage it was..
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
I’ve had a couple people ask this, if I have time tonight I’ll pop the doorbell off and throw a meter on it to see what mine is reading
ComPrt3
ComPrt3 Month ago
But in all fairness, when the camera detects motion, doesn't it send an image to your phone. And if so, wouldn't that delay the notification if your routers wifi is slowed down by all those other wifi products you have connected? I mean, that would explain the slow "motion detected" notification, and the fast "doorbell notification."
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Nope, it’s poorly designed the software. The camera records the entire motion event, then upload the entire motion event, then notifies you. So it doesn’t even start uploading the event until after the motion has completed. Other systems on the market will alert you to the motion before it ever starts to upload the video
Fish Erman
Fish Erman Month ago
Notification is not acceptable Intruders could of already got into your home and you aren’t pre warned 👎
Studio Terrible
Studio Terrible 28 days ago
usposts.info/vision/obTW0rXDrbGrm5k/video
djbillybass
djbillybass Month ago
Do you lave low wifi signal at the front of your house near the doorbell button. Wondering if that could have lagged the response. When you pressed the button it was pretty instantaneous.
djbillybass
djbillybass Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad great thank you for the reply. I dont have a wired doorbell but was considering adding this to my house. Any idea what transformer I could buy to install this in my house?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Nope, my front door actually has terrific Wi-Fi signal. The issue is in the software. It doesn’t alert you when motion is detected, it records the entire clip. Then, once the motion has ended it uploads the clip, then alerts you once the clip has been uploaded. It makes it pretty much useless if your goal is to capture porch Pirates
Kip Burbank
Kip Burbank Month ago
Is the “fuse-wire” an actual fuse, or a step-down resistor to drop the voltage from 12-16 to 5, like a usb voltage? There is a usb under the piece of gray tape on back of the doorbell unit.
Studio Terrible
Studio Terrible 28 days ago
usposts.info/vision/obTW0rXDrbGrm5k/video
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Not sure, it seems too small to be a step down resistor. I would think you would want a step down closer to the doorbell to avoid voltage drop. I’ll throw a multimeter on it and see.
Thomas O'Sullivan
Thomas O'Sullivan Month ago
My buddy got me wyze stuff as a gift. We have lock w/keypad and one v3 that we use as a baby monitor. I get notifications really fast from both products. The only delay I have experienced was with the camera's audio. There is maybe a 5-10 second delay on my audio which isnt bad in my opinion. I'm hoping they start selling the doorbell again so I can try one out.
Steve Cho
Steve Cho Month ago
Okay... where's the actual test of answering and talking? Wyze cam sound quality is crap so I'm sure everyone is wondering about the audio quality. But judging by the 'UPS guy' sample, I can already tell the audio has same crackling and static in the audio. What a shame.
Steve Cho
Steve Cho Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad Perhaps a follow up video is in order for the sound test. I've just installed mine and at first it was tolerable but after few days the sound somehow became worse for whatever reason.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Yeah, I missed that in the video, but your assessment is pretty spot on.
Paul Thompson
Paul Thompson Month ago
At 7:33 did you seriously drop your screwdriver?
Paul Thompson
Paul Thompson Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad haha perfect!
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Watch it again in all it’s glory at the end 17:49 , if I didn’t end it out all the times I dropped tools or spend scratching my head trying to figure out where I put something down these videos would be hours....
MrBusses Tool Reviews
MrBusses Tool Reviews Month ago
I am happy with mine. Also a backer of the doorbell, for $30 it's worth every penny
Steve Cho
Steve Cho Month ago
@MrBusses Tool Reviews Thank you for the correction. I found another review showing separate recording of 2-way conversation and though it sounded muffled, it was definitely better and more importantly, understandable. However, the playback of the cloud video has distortion in the sound which is most likely what other reviewers are using in their video because it's easier than separate recording and never mention about audio quality. Wyze may be using compression to store in cloud and the cause of the distortion. More reason to want local storage... I guess I'll keep it and see if adding V3 cam will supplement this doorbell. The auto LED light on doorbell is nice but between on/off, you lose the video and also have reports of it causing random device freeze. The V3's starlight and local storage should help I think. Might as well use better detection in V3 and just use doorbell for intercom only. No more need for Cam Plus...
MrBusses Tool Reviews
MrBusses Tool Reviews Month ago
@Steve Cho I've used mine several times and the audio is fine, there is a couple of second delay but the quality is not distorted at all.
Steve Cho
Steve Cho Month ago
@MrBusses Tool Reviews Found other reviews showing the intercom sound is just as bad as the camera. Crackling, static, muffled. You could hardly make out what each are saying. Mine will be returned because I need this so I can answer the ring, not just watch like a creep.
Steve Cho
Steve Cho Month ago
@MrBusses Tool Reviews I misunderstood you when you said better than cam. It seems to be better but still full of static and distorted. Low price or not, if you can't communicate with the visitor, might as well just install a cam over the door. This is very disappointing since I've invested in Wyze ecosystem to avoid having multiple. Will be returning mine when it arrives. This is not a software issue. I'm betting that they took old v2 cam hw and made this.
MrBusses Tool Reviews
MrBusses Tool Reviews Month ago
@Steve Cho sound is fine it is better than the cams for sure
Khurram Abbas
Khurram Abbas Month ago
Awesome job and honest review loved your detailed video loved your instructions on the chime setup inside with the wires that was very well videography and directions
Studio Terrible
Studio Terrible 28 days ago
usposts.info/vision/obTW0rXDrbGrm5k/video
norber to
norber to Month ago
Excellent video. The doorbell right now is out of stock so I will need to wait. Had you try to connected it to HomeKit maybe via Homebridge?
Unknown Person
Unknown Person Month ago
Why does the new ring doorbell look even more appealing over time?
Alloverdaplace
Alloverdaplace Month ago
Damn that latency is a deal breaker. What's the point right. Hopefully wyze updates it
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad 4 days ago
I have a eufy camera and the notification of motion is almost instant
SSSteve176M
SSSteve176M 4 days ago
I have a Nest camera sitting right above the door that I used before I purchased this door bell and the notifications come in right at the same time. So my $200 Nest doesn't have any better response time than the Wyse doorbell. I "rent" the AI feature for the Wyse doorbell and I get no false positives. Quiet as a mouse until a person comes into range. Range is about 20 feet out from the door so the 15 second response isn't as bad as it may seem.
Juan Rivera
Juan Rivera Month ago
If you have the Amazon echo Alexa app you can pair that with the Alexa and have it send notifications or even setup routines with the echo. The Alexa notification will be much faster than the wyze notifications. I use it with my wyze cams and Alexa notification arrive a few seconds faster than wyze. That's only because it's just a notification that Alexa is sending. Wyze is doing more so it will take a little longer.
Paul Alexander
Paul Alexander Month ago
Ted Lasso, is that you? 😎 Thanks for the useful video
Gsharks
Gsharks Month ago
Damn, 27 seconds is REALLY BAD for motion detection
SaucyX4 •
SaucyX4 • 24 days ago
I’m sure they’ll reduce that by more than half with a few updates
Harry Callahan
Harry Callahan Month ago
3:20 Is it possible it skip the step of fusing the wires together in the existing chime, so you can have both the Wyze chime and the exiting one ring at the same time? That's what I want, more chimes ringing all over the house. I just received my Wyze door bell (also that little "I backed" sticker) and haven't started doing anything. I asked Wyze but they said no, reason being the outsize unit needed power. But my current outside button already receives power (the light is glowing), so this should be feasible right? :)
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
I don’t believe so.
Jason Burns
Jason Burns Month ago
Why are your breakers outside your home?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Pretty much all homes out here are built that way.
Luis Amaral
Luis Amaral Month ago
Based on your comments here and on the discussion on the forum, I am very disappointed this "wired" door bell doesn't actually ring the existing bell. I will probably just return mine if they don't fix it. ( forums.wyzecam.com/t/have-wyze-doorbell-use-existing-chime/125455/46 )
Rhett Dawson
Rhett Dawson Month ago
@Juan Rivera the chime doesn’t run off wi-fi, it runs off radio frequency. ex-like garage door opener remote
Juan Rivera
Juan Rivera Month ago
I agree not sure why they would not use the existing chime or have the option to. If the internet is down you have no door bell.
traderjoes
traderjoes Month ago
Is your fuse panel outside by your electric meter? I suppose that anyone who knows that can simply sneak around and turn off the power in your home if they wanted to burgle it without worrying much about the various security devices.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
They’d already would have gone past two cameras. Gotten through a locked gate, then they’d have to cut off the lock on the panel. Even then it wouldn’t do them much good as the cameras are all wireless, and my modem and camera server all run on a UPS.
James Lolley
James Lolley Month ago
Just got mine installed today and my findings are in line with these. It was a timely purchase anyway. My mechanical chime for the front door stopped working and this replaces it, but still use the old chime for my side door. I was also disappointed that no micro SD card option was not included, and the intercom feature is far too low in volume.
Studio Terrible
Studio Terrible 28 days ago
usposts.info/vision/obTW0rXDrbGrm5k/video
James McBride
James McBride Month ago
This will disable my existing chime? Don't like that, and didn't have to do that with Ring. Can I "skip that step"?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
The ring wires doorbells have a battery in them that trickle charges with the hard wiring when the bell is rung. The Wyze doorbells don’t have a battery in them so the chime needs to be jumped to supply constant power.
James McBride
James McBride Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad Really?? The Ring has power from the door bell circuit, but my chime is just as it was originally.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Nope, you have to use the jumper to supply the camera with power.
Kimosabe
Kimosabe Month ago
I just remembered something else that might help you. I noticed you went and spliced the wires going to your old wall chime, this adds many feet to wire for the power to get back to the video doorbell. People don't realize that some houses have over 100ft going to the old wall chime and back to the doorbell, even 30 ft. is adding a drop in power so that by the time the power reaches your video doorbell it's a lot lower when there is a load on it, someone ringing doorbell and it is trying to transmit video back to Wyze. If at all possible just try to get a set of wires from the transformer directly to the doorbell and disconnect the wires on the transformer that feed the old wall chimes because that is adding wire length that is reducing the power that actually gets to the doorbell video unit. Also when you test power at the video doorbell, it's not enough to just test it with a multimeter at the end of the wires going to the doorbell, you need to see what it is when there is a load like someone ringing the doorbell and Video being transmitted which is not easy to do. I don't know if Wyze tech support has the ability to tell you by looking at your doorbell in their software while you stand in front of it, but I would love for them to include it in the Wyze app for the doorbell. The ability to see what the power is that the doorbell is getting when someone there on live video would help diagnose if your video doorbell has enough power. As an example, when I had issues with a ring doorbell once, and was on the phone with their original support team they could see on their end the actual power level at the doorbell when I pressed the ring button and the drop in power when the video was live, which is why the ring video feed was freezing and not stable even though the wire was only 12ft from the doorbell to the transformer. We immediately replaced the transformer with the more powerful 24vac -40VA and all issues went away. Of course you don't get this kind of support anymore on Ring, the new support people know nothing and are just reading off a script it seems (I've installed over 15 Ring doorbells so have been on phone with them a few times). As a default though for any video doorbell I install or help family/friends install, first thing I do is upgrade the transformer to minimum of 24vac-40VA, they are low cost on Amazon less than $20 and save you hours in headaches troubleshooting intermittent/freezing video.
Nat
Nat Month ago
The latency is the event snippet video time
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Eufy doesn’t have this issue, it alerts to motion while it capture the clip, then allows you to watch the feed as it’s creating and uploading the clip.... it can be done. Selling something as a security product but then it not alerting the owner to motion until we’ll after it’s gone is useless, and correctable.
Nat
Nat Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad If it's creating a 12 sec snippet it's a 12 sec delay.... get a motion sensor instead
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Making it useless as a security camera.
Wayne Gateley
Wayne Gateley Month ago
I looked at this doorbell camera but was surprised you couldn't use your existing chime. That little chime can't sound as good as a regular digital chime such the IQ America chime I use with the ring doorbell. How loud is it and what is the sound quality?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
The chime is actually pretty good, and it has adjustable volume and a whole bunch of different tones. When the chime is at full volume it's easily as loud (maybe louder) than the chime I had before.
Manuelzeva
Manuelzeva Month ago
And did you try the two way audio??
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
The audio quality isn't bad, but the latency is 5-10 seconds.
Gyro nuts
Gyro nuts Month ago
Can you put a meter on the wires to find out what is the voltage is running? No information in the voltage requirements! Anyone can help??
Michael Grove
Michael Grove Month ago
They state the voltage requirements on website.
Kimosabe
Kimosabe Month ago
what is the transformer power you are using for your video demo of the Wyze? If it's the old one that came with your house, it is probably less than 16vac and weak. I found that boosting to a 24VAC made a dramatic change for all the video doorbells I tried including the Ring and the Wyze. I used the "Elk TRG2440 24VAC, 40 VA" which is available on Amazon. Even my neighbor who was getting lag and dropped video, after a Transformer upgrade , all his issues went away, and his doorbell wire was only about 12 ft from doorbell to the garage, so he did not think he needed a stronger transformer, yet this boost in power solved all the issues. If you look online at Wyze details, it says (Hardwire required: 16V-24V AC, ≥10VA) but the 16v 10va ones I have found in past to just be too low powered leading to issues with live feed when someone is at the door, this was a problem with my Ring also until I boosted to the stronger transformer.
Blam-o
Blam-o Month ago
I don't see an option to add the Doorbell Chime. Do I have to go through the entore setup wizars again? Of O try to add another device, the chime isn't listed at all.
Kash Devingle
Kash Devingle Month ago
It's under Extended Devices in settings of door bell
Justin Wayns
Justin Wayns Month ago
So at 12:12 you have the sensitivity turned way down. Doesn't this affect how quick it will pick you up and send the notification? I have my Wyze cameras set higher and get notifications really quick. I have not had any issues with any of my Wyze products except a v2 cam getting wet from the plug and then not working. Other than this great video.
cameraz99
cameraz99 Month ago
I have V3 cameras. The zones don't work. The camera still picks up things outside of the zones.
The Toolmat
The Toolmat Month ago
Is the notification for a video clip?, so it takes that amount of time to upload the video, maybe it should be instant saying "doorcam alert - video uploading" that is the way it should be set up, almost instant like someone ringing the bell!.
Nighthawknorth 94
Nighthawknorth 94 Month ago
Whatever Wi-Fi chip they have in there is SUPERIOR to the ring. Instantly can connect to the doorbell unlike my ring that takes damn near a whole minute to open and connect.
You Nes
You Nes Month ago
Great video thanks for sharing. You got it all. Now I can decide to buy it or not .
Big Beezy
Big Beezy Month ago
adam lz sr?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Haha.... well played!
jobbahthehal
jobbahthehal Month ago
Curious- Is this setup running off of the home’s original doorbell transformer, or had that already been replaced? I’ve considered that I may need to replace my transformer, unfortunately, but having major problems locating it in my late 60’s ranch style house. May be time to dig through the blown in attic insulation some more to find it.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Original transformer, my house was built in 70
PHILLIP MCCOY
PHILLIP MCCOY Month ago
I would love to try this doorbell but it doesn’t seem to really exist. I’ve been on their email list since November and got tiered of not hearing from them. Don’t put out these videos unless there’s a product out there to buy.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
It being currently out of stock, doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.
Paul Hallock
Paul Hallock Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad I understand Phillip's comment. I can't find this for sale on Amazon or the wyze.com website
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
I paid for it, they shipped it, it arrived at my house. Not really sure how it doesn't exist.
Glen Yancha
Glen Yancha Month ago
I would think the delay with door bell notifications is due to your wifi speeds. Results should be different as it depends on each users internet wifi speeds.
Dan
Dan Month ago
No this is just how wyze does it. My wyze products so the same shit.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
I have almost zero latency with my eufy cameras though...
Infrequent Traveler
Infrequent Traveler Month ago
Thank you for the honest review of the Wyze Video Doorbell. Hopefully the delays will be reduced in future software updates.
jason ranford
jason ranford Month ago
Nice, but you really should be testing latency using your phones LTE connection and not WiFi.
Ribby 82
Ribby 82 Month ago
My latency on my v2 is way slower with Android/ATT compared to my other which is apple/Verizon combo for some reason
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
It makes no difference.
formerx
formerx Month ago
Very thorough video. Great mustache.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Thanks man!
Kory Hay
Kory Hay Month ago
Great vid. I saw you had the sprinkler setup on your wyze app. Did you do a video for that as well?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Not yet, but it’s coming!
Mike
Mike Month ago
Doorbell cams blow. Get a good WiFi cam (there are a bunch of them) and put it up 'over' the front door where someone can't reach it. Way better solution.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Take a look at the other videos on my channel....
Donald Knieriemen
Donald Knieriemen Month ago
What about the 2 way audio?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
The sound quality is good, but expect a 5 second or so delay.
Butch C
Butch C Month ago
Great review. I have a few of the cams, they are ok for the price, but they need improvement. BTW, They say the doorbell will have detections zones soon like the cams. I was also hoping they put in a slot for a memory card like the cams, but then people won’t pay the monthly subscription. I hope you do a follow up soon. Thanks for the vid 🙂
Butch C
Butch C Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad Just a heads up, I just found people saying the radio frequency that the door bell sends to the remote chime is Interfering with their remote garage door opener. You may want to check that out if you use a garage door wireless remote. There is a lot of good info on the WYZE forums FYI.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Hopefully we get that update soon!
Giovanni Turco
Giovanni Turco Month ago
Hi fantastic video again I did pre-ordered my wyze video doorbell I sent it to my American address then shipped to the UK I received it last week in the UK couldn’t believe how small it was and it did work in the UK like the rest of my wyze products I have ordered in the past. Forgot to say I have pre-ordered the Wyze watch and Wyze color bulbs and the Wyze home monitoring I do have the Wyze subscription they take the money out off my UK bank account
Studio Terrible
Studio Terrible 28 days ago
usposts.info/vision/obTW0rXDrbGrm5k/video
Ray Lariviere
Ray Lariviere Month ago
Just to mention that the latency when you push the doorbell button was fast but this is because your phone was not asleep as it was for your motion detection test. Good job on the review
Ray Lariviere
Ray Lariviere Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad ok, thanks alot for the info
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
It has made no difference between the phone being awake or not.
CADEN DOAN
CADEN DOAN Month ago
I think you forgot to mention when you connect the wires with the doorbell. Does it matter which wire go to which? For example, red goes with + and white go with - sign. The rest of the video is very informative. Thanks.
J Ptdo
J Ptdo Month ago
Doesn't matter which way you connect the cables.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
No, it doesn’t matter.
Sage Griot
Sage Griot Month ago
Thanks for video. Impressed except for lag time for notification. I don't understand why the motion detection and activate LED 10 or more seconds before notification on phone is triggered. When a visitor doesn't stick around like the package delivery guy is there any notification at all?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
I’m not being a jerk. I’m pointing out that one of the primary reasons people get video doorbells is to prevent theft of packages. A thief isn’t going to ring the bell, they are going to grab a package and take off. Getting an alert well after the their has left the property makes using these for security useless.
Andyblalock
Andyblalock Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad in either case they are gone and what are a few seconds? why are you trying to be a jerk?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Pretty sure the person dropping off packages, or stealing packages don’t ring the bell.... just a hunch.
Andyblalock
Andyblalock Month ago
near instant if they push the doorbell button.. not sure who is going to walk up to the door and stand there without ringing it
John Booth
John Booth Month ago
Too bad they didnt integrate a relay for the original chime . probably as simple as the wifi chime
John Booth
John Booth Month ago
did turning off the AI feature speed up the response time to motion.
John Booth
John Booth Month ago
never mind got mine and no improvement but I think it's cloud performance. They are growing so fast they cant keep up.
HFF
HFF Month ago
The moment he said " I will give honest review, not like other USpostsrs". I said to myself that's it I ain't watching anymore. Be yourself , don't point fingers at others. The audience will come.
Harry Callahan
Harry Callahan Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad Totally agree! Being honest should be the first thing in being oneself. Turning a blind eye is not, it's disingenuous :)
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
If you don’t want to accept the reality of USposts that fine... frankly I’m tired of youtubers giving fake reviews for free products and payouts. Every video I give a positive review in I get accused of being bought.
Danilo Pezzotti
Danilo Pezzotti Month ago
great video man!, that is exactly what I was looking for, the difference between the motion detection and the actual notification when someone rings the doorbell, I did think that the motion notification is the same the all the Wyze cams, it's around 15-17 secs for you to get the notification, even with the CAM PLUS subscriptions enabled, I think as long as the notification when someone presses the button is immediate, you could deal with the 17 secs of the motion detection, hopefully they fix it this year as they are releasing more and more products.
cameraz99
cameraz99 Month ago
​@DoItYourselfDad -- Well, Wyze support told me to use Sync Time when I complained about the delayed notifications, _and it worked,_ so it's worth trying for anybody having the notification delay.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Sync time just syncs the time on the camera with local time....
cameraz99
cameraz99 Month ago
I get 3-4 second notifications with my Wyze Cam V3 cameras. Go into each camera's Settings/Advanced Settings and tap Sync Time. It should speed things up for you.
Mark H
Mark H Month ago
Good info...the bottom screw on the wedge mount didn't go into your stucco..😮 if you get the cam plus the notification will be faster..
JandW Diaz
JandW Diaz Month ago
I have a delay on most of my products when I’m testing it. Due to my home WiFi connected to my phone.. Try disconnecting your WiFi on you cell.. most would be off of WiFi anyway when traveling.. 👍
JandW Diaz
JandW Diaz Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad hmm works for me.. I’ll try to upload a vid at some point.. not my thing though..
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
I havnt noticed a difference in delay between being on cell and wifi.
David Rutkin
David Rutkin Month ago
Can you just remove the original doorbell box in the house since it doesn't work anymore?
David Rutkin
David Rutkin Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad excellent, thank you!
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Yes, you could. You would just have to keep those two wires shorted inside the wall.
imable2ru
imable2ru Month ago
How was the 2-way audio?
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
The sound quality is pretty good, but there is a 5-10 second delay.
Paul Wilson
Paul Wilson Month ago
Question do you have to subscribe to cam + in order to get the notifications when someone just rings the doorbell. We live in a small town and I don't have a lot of people coming to the door. Mainly want it for when I am in the basement and can't get to the door fast enough
Paul Wilson
Paul Wilson Month ago
@DoItYourselfDad thanks
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
No, you don’t have to have a subscription for that. Only for person detection.
Allen Bergstrom
Allen Bergstrom Month ago
Just got mine today, waiting on the power source. I am switching to all Wyze for my home security, but the delay for notifications is my biggest issue. Other than that I love all the simplicity and how economical the system is.
Allen Bergstrom
Allen Bergstrom Month ago
@PHILLIP MCCOY I ordered it from Wyze back in September. It was a long, patient order fulfillment.
PHILLIP MCCOY
PHILLIP MCCOY Month ago
Where did you get it from.
Allen Bergstrom
Allen Bergstrom Month ago
All set up, picture is great, love the small unit. But as we've discussed, the notification for motion is still very erratic, sometimes instant, sometimes a few minutes. The doorbell feature seems fairly consistent at a few seconds. Overall not any worse than the Ring it replaced. Wyze will keep improving their AI to speed this up.
Frenetta O'Neal
Frenetta O'Neal Month ago
If pornstash came ringing my doorbell........
Colin Ricks
Colin Ricks Month ago
I wish it had micro SD card like the standard cameras for longer recordings
Mike \
Mike \ Month ago
I'm assuming it's so that you'll subscribe to Cam Plus. That's most likely also why they don't have detection zones.... Cam Plus subscription required to reduce dumb notifications.
Steven Busche Jr
Steven Busche Jr Month ago
Yes and also u can’t use your existing doorbell chime stupid sticking to ring
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
I didn't even notice that, but you are correct! Would have been nice!
You Never Know
You Never Know Month ago
I have subscribed waiting for it to be available...nice to see this review
Studio Terrible
Studio Terrible 28 days ago
usposts.info/vision/obTW0rXDrbGrm5k/video
Wanderer001
Wanderer001 Month ago
Thumbs up for another reviewer with the same network name as me. I can only wait to test out my Wyze Doorbell. Too much snow at the moment. Nice to see that it should be better then my current Skybell Trim. Keep up the good work.
Studio Terrible
Studio Terrible 28 days ago
usposts.info/vision/obTW0rXDrbGrm5k/video
John Booth
John Booth Month ago
exactly once it's over freezing I'll set it up.
DoItYourselfDad
DoItYourselfDad Month ago
Great minds!
Xmatador20
Xmatador20 Month ago
I like Wyze products but the only thing is that it takes long for them to notify you when there is motion on there cameras or doorbell . If they fix this issue through software update it can be the best.
zxcvbnmmasdfghjkl
zxcvbnmmasdfghjkl 23 days ago
@Pietri Guitars I actually have iPhone and nvr had issues
Pietri Guitars
Pietri Guitars 23 days ago
@zxcvbnmmasdfghjkl I bet you have an android device. The people with issues have apple iphones.
zxcvbnmmasdfghjkl
zxcvbnmmasdfghjkl 23 days ago
I don’t know why but I don’t have this notification issue, it’s almost instant for me
graphicsgod
graphicsgod 26 days ago
Also they're setup is a real PITA!
Cindy Miller
Cindy Miller Month ago
I disagree. I have the $229.99 Nest Hello doorbell and push notifications take a full 15 seconds to reach my iPhone 12pro. And that's with excellent WIFI/5G cellular coverage. So waiting an extra 5-10 seconds is not much longer.
Without Remorse - Final Trailer | Prime Video
2:28
I'm Moving Away... (not a prank)
12:51
Everything the Amazon Echo (4th Gen) Can Do
1:05:12
Everything my Smart Home Can Do in 2021
31:08
Maybe Building Your Own PC is a BAD Idea
27:30
Without Remorse - Final Trailer | Prime Video
2:28
I'm Moving Away... (not a prank)
12:51
How Am I Going To Get Out Of This Mess?
11:44
Matt's Off Road Recovery
Views 337K
Try Guys Swap Mystery Cooking Boxes
30:31