Wyze Thermostat Hands On - Unboxing, Installation & First Impressions Review

  Views 24,540

BeforeYouBuy

3 months ago

Follow up video: Wyze Thermostat - Using The Dial and Phone App
usposts.info/vision/p6vYuM3QnGathtQ/video
☕ Literally buy me a coffee if this video helped! Thanks so much!!
www.buymeacoffee.com/beforeyoubuy
► Wyze Products I Have Used & Love:
- Band (watch): amzn.to/34yWrZQ
- Scale: amzn.to/38E9zyb
- Lock: amzn.to/2Kqk8fR
Review: usposts.info/vision/Zde6u9jGgWycp5k/video
- Outdoor Camera: amzn.to/34yWNQa
Review: usposts.info/vision/rNW2mtfLfZOjeqo/video
- Indoor Camera: amzn.to/34zkcAR
► Purchase Products from Wyze
wyze.com/shop-wyze
Some links used are affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. That said, all reviews are 100% my own and unfiltered.
Video Timeline:
0:00 Unboxing
1:36 Installation
9:39 App Settings
18:18 Initial Impressions
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Email us at info@beforeyoubuyreview.com
🌐 Website → beforeyoubuyreview.com
📸 Instagram → @B4UBReviews
📘 Facebook → B4UBReviews

Comments
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Follow up video: Wyze Thermostat - Using The Dial and Phone App usposts.info/vision/p6vYuM3QnGathtQ/video ☕ Literally buy me a coffee if this video helped! Thanks so much!! www.buymeacoffee.com/beforeyoubuy
Jermaine Stewart
Jermaine Stewart 20 days ago
It would be just that simple of it actually worked. I am installing it now and it's such a headache. First issue is Bluetooth pairing. I have the S10+ and it would not pairing for the life of me. The app would exit when trying to pair. After multiple power cycle of the breaker, rests of the thermostat, and restarts of my phone, it FINALLY paired. Right after that headache I get the green wire not connected error. Nothing worked to resolve this. I eventually skipped that step. Now it's saying it has network issues. Again, nothing is working to resolve this. At this point I feel like throwing it in the trash because this whole experience has been garbage. I'll contact Wyze first to see what they can do. I'm also not new to Wyze products. I have a fair number and variety of their products and this is the only one so far that is trash right now. I sure hope I don't have this nonsense when I install the doorbell.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 19 days ago
That is frustrating for sure! That’s the opposite of my experience with the thermostat. That said, I was helping my brother install a Wyze doorbell and I haven’t been able to get that one to work connecting to the chime inside. 🤷‍♂️🤦‍♂️
Matthew Barlow
Matthew Barlow 29 days ago
Thank you, great content, even from wyze! Thermostat and scale on it's way, doing research. Glad I came across your channel.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 28 days ago
Awesome to hear! Glad the videos have helped. You’ll love them! 👍
Alex Benbow
Alex Benbow Month ago
Do you have a furnace and separate ac unit outside? Did you have to double up the y and c wires on the control board (with the c wire adapter)? Thanks for your help.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
Wouldn’t that always kick on the AC Unit at the same time as the furnace? I’m not positive how wiring all works
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
Yes, I do. I can’t recall off hand as it’s been so long. I just followed the apps instructions
Dad with Kids
Dad with Kids Month ago
Might give this a try. I love the cameras they make.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
It’s an incredible value just like their cameras! 👍
Mobi
Mobi Month ago
how would this work with a dual zone system?
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
I don’t believe it does
Stone 501
Stone 501 Month ago
Do you really wanna skimp $$ on a device that controls your indoor weather? Really?
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
I always strive for value myself. The ones that work the best are only $30 and aren’t a smart one in my opinion. I think this brings great value personally. It’s -30F here 🥶and I haven’t once worried my thermostat would stop working on me
Bryan Welty
Bryan Welty Month ago
Anybody else having huge temperature swings with this thing? I installed one a couple days ago and it will drop 2 degrees before kicking on and then over shoot the set temperature by 2-3 degrees. And yes, I have tried every "behavior" setting. Thanks
Bryan Welty
Bryan Welty Month ago
@BeforeYouBuy do you mind sharing what your settings are? They just sent me a second one and it’s still over shooting in temp
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
I have not noticed any temp swings there. It's pretty much spot on.
FOTO-UNO
FOTO-UNO Month ago
Will this thermostat work if the internet goes out?
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
Thanks! I’m glad they helped!
FOTO-UNO
FOTO-UNO Month ago
@BeforeYouBuy Thank you great video! Subscribed!!!
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy Month ago
Yes. You wouldn’t be able to adjust via smart phone at that point, but it is wired in so it will work without internet
My Friends Call Me John
My Friends Call Me John 2 months ago
The thermostat itself isn't bad. Screen resolution is not as good as a Nest but hey, it's $50. It's the app that's a heaping pile of hot trash. Until they can iron out the bugs, I'd stick with a Nest.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 2 months ago
Yeah you can tell it’s new, but some features I like more than Nest. I’m glad it’s just an app that’s easy to update. Will be interesting to see the 3rd iteration of this product
Andrew Poletto
Andrew Poletto 2 months ago
I'm running into issues connecting my bluetooth. My phone can't find the thermostat. And, as far as I can tell, I can't do any setup until the phone is connected. Do you know if that's the case?
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 2 months ago
I believe only during the setup (if at all ... I’m not positive the protocol it is using for setup - could be WiFi ad-hoc). After that Bluetooth isn’t needed for sure
Andrew Poletto
Andrew Poletto 2 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy Huh? Set up on another phone logged into wyze? So I don't need bluethooth at all? I guess I'm really confused now.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 2 months ago
@Andrew Poletto I would set it up on another phone using your account logged into Wyze. Not sure why that would be happening. Then once it's setup in Wyze, you should be able to manage no problem. I hope that helps.
Andrew Poletto
Andrew Poletto 2 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy The phone isn't the issue. It connects to other bluetooth devices without an issue. If there's another way to set up the tstat, I'm willing to try it.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 2 months ago
Good question. I’m not exactly positive what protocols are all needed for setup. May be a silly question, but do you have Bluetooth enabled on your phone? Maybe try rebooting? Also you could set it up on any mobile device or tablet. Once it’s in your Waze account then you could control it from your phone. Just wondering if the phone is an issue you could at least get past it.
Jay Li
Jay Li 2 months ago
Thank you for your review. Can you help me out why my cooling system does not work?
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 2 months ago
I don’t know a lot about HVAC and just followed the setup. Walk back through the video setup and make sure the wires are right what you had before and what they want them on
KingGene
KingGene 3 months ago
I would like to see a comparison to the Nest thermostat which I have because Nest or Google support sucks. Nest support was awesome before they got bought out by Google now the support people are those one who just look up troubleshooting out of a book.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Oh dang. Any specific questions you’d like to see answered?
T A
T A 3 months ago
One thing that isn't explained is...... Does the thermostat only speak to your account via bluetooth on your phone. Wyze sells a gateway for the door unlock.... but w/o the gateway your door cannot be managed by your phone when you are farther away than bluetooth range. So does having a gateway allow for managing the thermostat remotely? Wyze's site says: "No matter where you are in the world, you’re always just a few taps away from dialing in the perfect temperature." that statement does/doesn't say 'with required accessory'. When @beforeyoubuy reviewed this within the app on his phone, I didn't see that the thermostat will connect to his wifi. This really makes me wonder if you can only manage this while in bluetooth range. I looked further and found: wyze.com/wyze-thermostat.html#pageDetails it does say it has 2.4Ghz wifi. I wish this review showed the section where this thermostat connected to the wifi. In the FAQ of the same link, it says: Will Wyze Thermostat still work if my WiFi connection drops? Yes, Wyze Thermostat will continue operating based on the last updated schedule. You can also control your temperature or change the status from the thermostat itself. Again, I wish this review confirmed that he connected it to his wifi. If I missed it in when watching this video, I apologize. :)
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Good question. It does connect to your WiFi directly. Thankfully no middle man involved! 👍 I don’t like that about the door locks
Gabe
Gabe 3 months ago
Please create a comparison video for the Nest Thermostat vs Wyze Thermostat. I'd like to understand the smart learning/AI features
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I don’t have any smart things setup at work so I’ll see what I can do. I’ll put it on the list
Will Gibbs
Will Gibbs 3 months ago
Thanks for the heads up about a possible rebate!
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
You bet! Worth a look for sure
Capt. Lenny Miller
Capt. Lenny Miller 3 months ago
Nice review but dive into temperature preferences, don't just brush over it.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I did a follow up video. See if this helps: usposts.info/vision/p6vYuM3QnGathtQ/video
Adam L
Adam L 3 months ago
I have an Ecobee for my house and this is SO similar. I use Wyze cams and will try this thermostat in my shop so I can monitor temperature and turn on furnace to warm it up before I go out there
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Yeah it’s an incredible value. Especially if you have other Wyze products. My other video on the thermostat shows how to create rules which can be powerful for automation
Chuck Watts
Chuck Watts 3 months ago
Come on man, be objective. I’ve installed a bunch of electronic thermostats and have never had to go to the furnace to install some hardware. That makes the Wyze stuff a hard no! I’ll be sending mine back tomorrow. Nest is more expensive and I have a bunch of Wyze devices that all work, but this one is not worth it at all.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I agree. I said it wasn't ideal, but not a deal breaker for me personally. They walked you through every step and probably added about 10-15min for the install (unless you record it and need video equipment! Ha!). When I went to Nest's website, they couldn't guarantee it would work with my furnace since I didn't have a C wire. At my last house the local utility company came to install a Nest didn't work there either. It may be a little more complicated depending on your setup, but I like the fact that they figured out a way for you to still have a smart thermostat without the C wire pulled.
Robh693 H
Robh693 H 3 months ago
The adapter did not work for me. Fortunately I had the blue wire unused at the thermostat (it was just wrapped around the insulation along with the brown wire). I went into the air handler and connected it to C on the control panel then to the C on the Wyze thermostat and it worked. I have a Goodman A/C unit with the forced hot air element in the air handler.
Max Power
Max Power 2 days ago
@BeforeYouBuy Yeah, nearly all systems have a terminal for the C wire but most AC installers don’t connect it to the wall wiring since “dumb” thermostats don’t need it and also because mishandling or miswiring the C wire could cause a short that will fry your board’s transformer (a $25 part that most AC repair companies will charge you $300-$400 to replace; it’s kind of crazy... most AC makers design their systems to include a $1 fuse to protect the transformer to save you that $400 service call but some do not). Also, sometimes it is a bit difficult to tell which terminal on the air handler is the C wire terminal as it is not always labeled as such.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Interesting. Thanks for sharing. Did you use the instructions from the app? Just curious if they guided you to a non-working system.
Bob Smiley
Bob Smiley 3 months ago
Nice helpful review. I’ve done a lot of thermostats but never one this high tech. Good to know what you are getting into. Much better than the wyze video. Also good video followed showing how to use it and the app.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Thanks!! I’m glad it was helpful
Joshua Pittendrigh
Joshua Pittendrigh 3 months ago
Good review. I have a Nest but will be changing it soon,probably to this one.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Nice. Thanks! Glad it helped. The value is incredible
Josean 718
Josean 718 3 months ago
Its called a Phoenix connector is not a harness a harness is a total different thing! But i enjoy your video Thanks!
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Thanks for the insight! 👍
Glen Harness
Glen Harness 3 months ago
Does this work if your wi-fi goes out? Reason I ask is that the bombing in Nashville the other day knocked out our internet for a couple of days. If it relies on wi-fi then I'm not sure I want to install the one I just received.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
You can still use the dial you just wouldn’t be able to control with phone
Kam
Kam 3 months ago
Hello Brother, I bought Wyze thermostat for some reason I’m seeing cooling option on my device. When I switch around the white wire I lose one of the options. Please help my email is Kamrul.nyc@gmail.com
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Sorry, I know very little about HVAC.
micomen
micomen 3 months ago
Glad wyze offers value, These other brands are just too much for similar features. They will all have to come down in time due to competition like this
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I agree. Wyze seems to put very disruptive value pricing out there!
james mack
james mack 3 months ago
thank you for the review very informative. about the location turn on, I wonder if it is Bluetooth or wifi. if wifi could it be set for distance or estimated time till you get home
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I’m not sure it’s location away if that’s what you are asking
Batt
Batt 3 months ago
I'm sure this is your first smart thermostat. The Google nest thermostat has the same instructions . And much easier to install.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I’ve also installed the Nest and have 3 of them at work. I like that this one had videos with each step.
TwoBuck Chuck
TwoBuck Chuck 3 months ago
I dont know if you have Alexa but I'd like to see integration with that.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I don’t have a device but I might be able to still set it up through the Alexa app on my phone
tim L
tim L 3 months ago
The G wire to C terminal on thermostat for those who installed adaptor. Don't assume- that's right !
Matthew Costa
Matthew Costa 3 months ago
Do you know why the AC compressors turning on in heat mode , I have heat mode turned on in such a 72゚
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Hmm. Not sure exactly. I’m not a HVAC by any means. More of an IT Nerd
Jonathan Johnson
Jonathan Johnson 3 months ago
Ah!! That panel safety switch tripped me up! Thanks for the tip!!!
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Glad to help!👍 It got me too. I was so mad thinking I wired it wrong!
Sandi Pincock
Sandi Pincock 3 months ago
We just got ours last week. The c-wire adapter instructions were frighteningly vague for something so important. We paid the A/C professional who installed our unit to fix us up on the c-wire part. The rest was very straightforward. We are also not big fans of the 5 degree limit on heat up/cool down. Hopefully that’s something they offer a patch for soon.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Ok I see it now after trying it out. I was thinking you could go more than 5 deg apart (and I can) but it has to be more than 5 deg apart which is interesting. I have mine to heat to 67 and cool to 78
Sandi Pincock
Sandi Pincock 3 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy we did try changing our behavior preferences with no luck unfortunately. If you are in any other mode but home mode, you can set heat up and cool down to any preference you want. 62-70, 70-74, basically anything. But if you have it in home mode, you are limited to that 5 degree window. If you have it set to heat up to 70 and want to drop it down to 63 for cool down, it will straight up stop you at 65. But only in home mode. None of the other modes do this, and so far we haven’t found a behavior setting or otherwise that can override it to the temperature flexibility you have in all other modes.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Just trying to make sure I understand... what do you mean by home mode? I have temps set when “Home”, “Away”, & “Sleep” under Temperature Preferences. Is that what you mean? Also, I wonder if it has something to do with your Behavior preference?
Sandi Pincock
Sandi Pincock 3 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy essentially there’s a limit of 5 degrees in home mode only. If you want it to heat up to 70, then it can only cool down to 65. If you want it to heat up to 70 while you are home, and cool down to 62, you are out of luck. It maxes you out at 65
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I haven’t seen the limit. Are you saying when turning the dial you were only able to go 5 degrees total at a time?
dave c
dave c 3 months ago
Get it to work with Alexa mine doesn’t work with alexa
Glen Harness
Glen Harness 3 months ago
@dave c Well, this is good to know. I'll wait until they get it to work with Alexa before installing mine.
dave c
dave c 3 months ago
Yep called Wyze alexa doesn’t work with it right now because they haven’t set that part up yet . Kind of backwards to me
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Hmm. Interesting. Hopefully you can get that figured out soon. Anyone else on here have ideas?
dave c
dave c 3 months ago
It doesn’t recognize it but says it works with Alexa kind of a disappointment I’ll have to contact Wyze but they are not very good at getting back so far
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Hmm. I don’t have an Alexa. Is it responding at all?
JB Dragon
JB Dragon 3 months ago
I didn't have the C eke on my old thermostat, but had extra wires on both ends. So it was simple to connect a white on the heater to C and then on the thermostat to C, that way, not needing the adapter. So that is an option. But I ended up getting the Ecobee 4. I got it quite a while ago. It also supports everyone including Apple Homekit with Siri. But it was $250. I also like the remote sensors that tell you the temp and sense motion in other rooms. So there are more Benifits with that. But $50 for this Smart Thermostat is a fantastic deal and does many things that is good enough fit most people at that price point.
JB Dragon
JB Dragon 3 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy Ya, they were tucked back out of the way, but was able to pull the extra wires out from the hole the wires were through in the wall. The extra wires at the heater were just wrapped around the other wires. So it was a snap. So look and make sure threes not any extra wires tucked back or they could be snipped short as they were not needed. You may have enough write free in that wall to pull out of the wall to free up more wire in the outer covering. So sometimes you get lucky. These days, new housing construction should just have the C white connected. Why not when the connection exists on both ends? why use batteries to run a cheap thermostat when it could have just run with power from the C wire.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Nice having extra wires! Yeah, it’s insane value for sure.👍
Ron Leedy
Ron Leedy 3 months ago
I would be looking for a remote sensor like the ecobee has and a hub connection. Thanks for the review.
Philip Cooksey
Philip Cooksey 3 months ago
They will be adding support for remote sensors
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Gotcha. Do you have multiple zones? If not, one thing you can do on the Wyze is adjust your thermostat temp so 70s reading is actually a different temp. I hear you though where another sensor in a different room could dial that in even more
Ron Leedy
Ron Leedy 3 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy our thermostat is front formal room which on the north side of the house. Living area is upstairs on south side of house. Two completely different echo systems. Ultimately would love to move thermostat.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I suppose it depends on lifestyle and where your thermostat is. I don’t think that would really help much from what I’ve learned. I heard from an HVAC person it’s not hardly worth dropping if it’s not longer than 8 hours.
fjhacket
fjhacket 3 months ago
Do you know if Wyze thermostat has built in compressor protection?
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Sorry I am not sure. At the setup it asks what kind of heat you have. You could technically install the app and step through the set up to see if it would work for your furnace. Or maybe the website has a set up area
SeeMovie Love
SeeMovie Love 3 months ago
Do you think it will void your A/C unit if you modified the wiring? Thanks
SeeMovie Love
SeeMovie Love 3 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy I do understand that Wyze walks me through the installation but I still have to insert the module in between the original wiring of hvac unit
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
No. It walks you through how to do it.
Den Doyle
Den Doyle 3 months ago
Spouse hates Apps on phone, so I know she will always use the dial on the face of the thermostat. A detail demo of how that exactly works would be nice.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Did you see later in the video clip where I walk through the settings on the dial? I know it’s not a full demo but does show you some of the things
Dennis Jones
Dennis Jones 3 months ago
Thank you, awesome video. I installed the thermostat 3 days ago and had not quite figured out the app settings until watching your posting. Got it now - thanks much!!
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Awesome! Glad it helped!! 👍
clifwilks
clifwilks 3 months ago
Just received and installed mine a couple days ago....fantastic piece and after watching your video I realized that I passed over a step that threw me for awhile...pay close attention to the part where they want you to relabel and redirect a particular wire....I didn't so it took a call to Wyze to fix me up...they were great and didn't call me out on my mistake. lol Great video.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Ha! Seriously. It was about the 3rd wire I was labeling and I realized they changed it on me too. I assumed I knew what I was doing 😂🤦‍♂️
SeeMovie Love
SeeMovie Love 3 months ago
Can WYZE Thermostat reconnect to the WIFI after loosing power? Thanks
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
I would assume the auto reconnects. I pulled it off the wall and put it back on multiple times and it instantly connect. Similar to flipping the switch on the furnace which kills power to it and it turns on and connects right away
Michael Houch
Michael Houch 3 months ago
Nice video bro... I just got mine last night and installed it. Love it so far and for the value, great buy. Thanks for a good video
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Thanks for the feedback! Nice! It’s pretty sweet!
Javier Chavez
Javier Chavez 3 months ago
FYI does not work with dual zone HVAC. Found out the hard way.
Javier Chavez
Javier Chavez 3 months ago
@Calvin Kwan I’m glad they worked for you but unfortunately for me i couldn’t get they to work. Idk why Wyze would tell me they aren’t designed for dual zone maybe they didn’t want to help me and don’t care about losing a sale 😂. I think I’m gonna go with the ecobee4 they have good reviews
Calvin Kwan
Calvin Kwan 3 months ago
@Javier Chavez I actually installed both Wyze thermostats. The repair was for the replacement of the furnace transformer which cost the market rate of your area 😂. The repair guy just made the furnace work again and didn’t configure my thermostat at all. Still cheaper than a single Nest 😅
Javier Chavez
Javier Chavez 3 months ago
@Calvin Kwan dang Wyze told me it wouldn’t work after I couldn’t get it to work. How much did the professional charge you? If it was a lot it’s better to just get nest egg thermostats with that money and install myself as I did on my other house
Calvin Kwan
Calvin Kwan 3 months ago
@Javier Chavez I am using 2 Wyze Thermostats - upstairs/ downstairs connected to a Honeywell Minizone control board to a single furnace and ac system. . It is working as before with old Thermostats. I did had an issue with my furnace not coming on but was corrected by a professional so my DIY project was only half successful 🤣🤣🤣
Javier Chavez
Javier Chavez 3 months ago
@BeforeYouBuy my setup is basically one HVAC system with a thermostat downstairs and a separate one upstairs. Wyze told me I would only be able to Use one of their thermostat And would have to choose which one to replace. In my last house with dual zone I ran two nest thermostats and they worked great. I’m thinking something with their software or hardware doesn’t allow theirs to work with two. Makes sense if you think about how much less theirs cost compared to nest and other smart thermostats
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 3 months ago
Its not bad but the only thing I could ask for is for it to work with smart things
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
👍 glad it helped! Thanks for the feedback
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
That’s an interesting idea. I haven’t played with rules much
chowfam1
chowfam1 3 months ago
Thank you for this great review! I've had the thermostat for 2 days and love the settings and ease of use. However, I was a little bummed because I couldn't figure out how to change the temperature on the device itself. I thought I needed to use the app all the time...🤷🏻‍♀️🤦🏻‍♀️ Thank you so much!!! 🤗👍👏
chowfam1
chowfam1 3 months ago
You can add rules to it, e.g. if camera X gets triggered, smart thermostat setting changes from away to home, etc... I have not connected it to my Wyze Cam (no need for it), so far I'm happy with the Thermostat.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Isn’t that something they could change with a software update?
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 3 months ago
I though it would come out in 2021
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
If you pre-ordered they said December. I was afraid it’d be delayed to be honest
Farhan Ahmed
Farhan Ahmed 3 months ago
Can you try a 24v transformer wall plug as a C-wire for those who don't have a C-wire?
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
It’s fine if you don’t have a C-Wire (like me) you just have to install their extra controller in the furnace
Daniel Cassel
Daniel Cassel 3 months ago
Great walkthru! I received & installed mine yesterday - was considering uploading a similar video but you covered pretty much everything I would’ve gone over :-) My install was a bit simpler since I didn’t need the C wire adapter - I upgraded my thermostat wire to 8 wires a few years ago when trying to get a Nest installed. This one was sooooo much easier overall.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Thanks! I’m glad it covered everything! 😂 Look at it as saving you time not having to make one! Ha! The install is incredible with the app. It’s a brilliant idea, and it was same with the Wyze Lock 👍
scott harris
scott harris 3 months ago
So glad you did this. I've been waiting to order mine but this put me over the edge. Keep up the great content. I'd love to see the Wyze Outdoor Cam hooked up to a Google Nest Hub when you get a chance.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Glad it helped! 👍 Thanks for the video idea. I don’t have a Nest Hub though ... yet. I may have to buy one
Jason Ruperto
Jason Ruperto 3 months ago
I have water baseboard heat and 3 zones. My first zone has a nest thermostat, although my 2 other zones have old honeywell thermostats. I only have 2 wires. It says it wouldn't work with my configuration. Wth?!
Jason Ruperto
Jason Ruperto 3 months ago
@Jesse Bekas the nest is wired with 2 wires. One connected to rh and the other to w
Jesse Bekas
Jesse Bekas 3 months ago
@Jason Ruperto out of curiosity, what's the wiring setup for the Nest? Did you do it yourself, or have someone else install? Maybe the Nest has an adapter wired at the boiler using up the 24v line already.
Jason Ruperto
Jason Ruperto 3 months ago
@Jesse Bekas I tried that combination as well. Nothing. Someone just got a really nice Wyze thermostat for Festivus.
Jesse Bekas
Jesse Bekas 3 months ago
If you only have two wires, it may be assuming that neither are 24v, which you'd need to power the wifi connection. But if you have a Nest hooked up on the same 2-wire system, then the Wyze should work as well. RH to RH, and the W1 is probably acting as your C wire.
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Interesting. It’s saying it won’t work with just the 2 wires? I can’t imagine that’s the case since it doesn’t get any easier than that. Maybe support would help? Or maybe the labels of wires are wrong
ag3116
ag3116 3 months ago
Nice video can't wait to get mines delivered
BeforeYouBuy
BeforeYouBuy 3 months ago
Thanks! I’ll be honest I was a little worried at only $50, but I’m very impressed with the build. I’ve mostly only used Nest Ecos before
TIKTOKS you need to watch
9:04
LazarBeam
Views 7M
World’s Largest Explosion!
8:32
MrBeast Gaming
Views 17M
Thermostat Wiring Explained!
10:35
Benjamin Sahlstrom
Views 213K
Wyze Cam v3: Unbelievable Night Vision for $20
07:39
Everything the 2020 Nest Thermostat Can Do
35:22
TIKTOKS you need to watch
9:04
LazarBeam
Views 7M
World’s Largest Explosion!
8:32
MrBeast Gaming
Views 17M
DON'T TALK TO STRANGERS!!!! EP. 4
11:40
Kinigra Deon
Views 1.2M
Sleeping in storm shelter #Shorts
0:30