Wyze Cam V3 Spotlight Kit Review - Unboxing, Features, Setup, Installation and Testing

  Views 35,870

LifeHackster

Month ago

Today, we will check out the first and new accessory for your Wyze Cam V3. This is the spotlight kit which will enhance the night color recording of your Wyze Cam. So, we will do the unboxing, check out its specs, set it up and install it to our Wyze Cam V3 and will do some testing and see if this spotlight accessory is a must have if you have the V3.
I did review the Wyze Cam V3 a while back and below is the link to the video if you haven't seen it yet.
Wyze Cam V3 at Amazon - amzn.to/3rMZreu
Wyze Cam V3 Review - usposts.info/vision/jLbAw9qpr5yvqtA/video
Wyze Cam V3 Spotlight Kit - wyze.com
#lifehackster #wyzecamspotlight #wyzev3spotlightkit
00:00 Introduction
01:17 Specs and Features
02:38 Unboxing
03:07 Installation
03:32 Wyze Cam V3 power cable issue
04:02 Settings in the app
05:00 Testing and Video Quality Comparison Indoors
06:30 Night Vision and Spotlight - Does it make BW Footage better?
06:52 Best Night Setting for the Wyze Cam V3 with spotlight kit
07:14 Testing and Video Quality Comparison Outdoors
08:36 Final Thoughts
Shop WiFi Security Cameras - www.amazon.com/shop/lifehackster
Checkout the FitHackster Channel - bit.ly/2DIC020
My Camera/Studio Gear - kit.co/lifehackster/video-creation-kit
Don't forget to sign up for Sale notifications @ lifehackster.com
- enter your email on the right upper corner - Join Notification List
Lifehackster is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
I may earn a small commission for the review, recommendation, testimonial, and/or link to any products or services from this video.

Comments
Public Name
Public Name 2 days ago
If only the V3 detected as well as the V2. 😔
Genesis Carabeo
Genesis Carabeo 6 days ago
Great video. Did you notice the static sound? Mine also has it even the pan and v2.
Mirza Munif
Mirza Munif 7 days ago
The camera interface and everything is so good but I just wish the quality was a littke bit better. I'd honestly be willing to pay higher prices for a better quality camera
Kris Li
Kris Li 10 days ago
This is so helpful
B C
B C 14 days ago
LOL if you can see the inside of the USB cable, aka the colored wires, it's no longer weather proof. Hopefully it doesn't explode.
Chief Louie
Chief Louie 17 days ago
I have Wyze ver 2 pointed outside and smack into the window. I dont have lights outside. My drawback is at night. I wonder if this light would help? I will give it a try. Thanks.
Janice Chuang
Janice Chuang 21 day ago
Would this combo work inside, pointing out through a window? (Saw your video on setting up the V3 with a light affixed above it on the window.)
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 20 days ago
I think the spotlight will reflect on the glass and cause glare.
Michael Casaus
Michael Casaus 24 days ago
Love your videos! I bought the reolink altos 3 because of you. FYI you have a spirit orb pass over you starting at 5:59 mins.
Michael Casaus
Michael Casaus 24 days ago
It’s 5:55 I apologize *
Karl
Karl 27 days ago
Solid review as usual!
Mark Gierhart
Mark Gierhart 28 days ago
Any recommendations on longer cables running from the power adapter to the camera for mounting the camera farther away from a power outlet? Maybe something I can purchase on Amazon.
Don Glass Jr
Don Glass Jr 24 days ago
Yes you can get on Amazon, I have three I’m about to install.
Giovanni Turco
Giovanni Turco 29 days ago
Hi again I was wondering have you had any problems with your Wyze Spotlight because I had my for 2 weeks yesterday if was working tonight it not working at all yesterday we did have heavy rain 🌧 yesterday went on V3 camera for car park the logo for the spotlight wasn’t they
Retired at 49
Retired at 49 Month ago
All I took from this review is that this camera basically sucks! The video quality is horrible and the so called spot light is dim at best! The camera I'm currently using is 4k and has night vision! It doesn't require a spot light at night and has crystal clear video quality! I just have to ask ,why would anyone want or buy this camera??? Anyone?? Seriously why???
Patrick
Patrick Month ago
If only Wyze could get their cameras back in stock. I’m waiting on the doorbell
Terk Franks
Terk Franks Month ago
I used the power dongle to daisy chain power for 2 V3 cameras... ✌
PNW Tactical prepper
PNW Tactical prepper Month ago
I bought the V3 with the spotlight, the spotlight has failed me, it will not come on anymore. I checked the connections and clicked on accessories and it is not there. When it did work it only caused glare on the display. Pass on it y’all
RayFpv
RayFpv Month ago
You had a flying orb 5:56. Great review.
PROEDGEBIKER.COM
PROEDGEBIKER.COM Month ago
I Agree, I rather prevent than lament.
Isaac Alon
Isaac Alon Month ago
I'm not impressed at all with this camera. Plus the so-called "custom zone" is a Big Joke, I mark the zones on my cameras and basically, they record anything that moves in and out of the zone. It's just a BS feature to put on the selling brochures, from my experience!
Big Jeff12
Big Jeff12 Month ago
I’ve had that problem also Issac. I started “experimenting” with the sensitivity settings along with the zone setting and have mine pretty much “dialed in”. May be worth a try in your case...
ABN Panzer
ABN Panzer Month ago
I’ve actually had some luck with the zones... but I use them to ‘block-out’ trees and such that may sway in the wind/breeze. Inside though... not finding a good use.
MrZACATECANO100
MrZACATECANO100 Month ago
Do you know if v3 have built in bridge , to pair up the Wyze door sensors?
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Not with the V3.
Dan Glecier
Dan Glecier Month ago
Well far from perfect and needed improvements, I couldn't be happier because of price. Things that are annoying, activating because of fog, light being turned on or blowing distant trees. Sounds recording is awful and needs more mounting options, flimsy.
Andyxgt
Andyxgt Month ago
this camera is so disappointing.
John S isabel
John S isabel Month ago
After this review I have decided to go with a ring camera. I need to know the detected motion range of the ring cameras. I require between 20 to 30 feet. This info is a deal breaker. I am a new subscriber and appreciate your videos very much
Meidy Jordan
Meidy Jordan Month ago
Hi, thank you for all the reviews that have been submitted. I beg to add the number plate reading test to the nighttime test from various distances and in moving positions as you do the daytime test. thank you
Michelle Lee
Michelle Lee Month ago
How you doing I just came across your Channel I have wired security cameras and recently I'm coming across the lights turn on at night and I can't see anything I tried to put grey duct tape on it but I'm still seeing the lights in the window what can I do
TopSecretVid
TopSecretVid Month ago
At this point Wyze cam should be 4k
MuteBloc allows noise free deadlifts at gym
MuteBloc allows noise free deadlifts at gym Month ago
Hi
Rockaland2
Rockaland2 Month ago
For 20 bucks its blows always blink cameras,,, and rivals ring stick up cam!
Dead Pixel
Dead Pixel Month ago
I really appreciate you sharing new product reviews. It helps me stay current with this growing camera business.
Doug Ho
Doug Ho Month ago
Do you know when Wyze cam V3 available on Amazon? Give us a link to buy them?
acastr1234
acastr1234 Month ago
Great vid... The audio is terrible on the camera...I prefer the Eufy .
Marcial
Marcial Month ago
The quality of the video is very foggy, not clear. especially the face. 👎👎 very disappointed
Auroramystic
Auroramystic Month ago
I know you don’t work for ring but if you ever do a review for the ring doorbell wired you should just make up the name and call it “ring entry doorbell” since what it’s Officially called isn’t really a true name like the the rest of the ring 2, 3, 3 plus, pro, elite and plus if you call it that then maybe everyone will start going it by that and maybe it will get rings attention to the point to they will make the next on in the further as like an updated never one to call it that
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
I know.. Ring entry or basic or I guess Ring basic wired video doorbell.
consulmollard
consulmollard Month ago
What was that flying towards the camera at around 5:58 in the video???
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Dust...
Thomas Collein
Thomas Collein Month ago
Congratulations to 100.000!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you!
chuck becker
chuck becker Month ago
This review was comprehensive and illustrated everything one would need to know before a purchase decision is made.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank You. I appreciate it.
Shack O'Neal
Shack O'Neal Month ago
If money was not an issue or monthly subscription which camera would you consider buying . Wireless cameras only ? Tia... I was thinking about getting Arlo pro3 or pro 4 , what do you think ¿
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Wired is a better option if you have access to power... Also, I'll go with Ring or Eufy.
Auroramystic
Auroramystic Month ago
What's the difference between ring 2 and the ring 2020 because I can't really tell and the made the 2020 like it's a refresh
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
I really don't know. I still have the older Pro and the 3 Plus and now, I'll be checking out the cheaper wired version.
utuber1000
utuber1000 Month ago
Another great LifeHackster video! You always do the most precision testing, yet make it practical, interesting and understandable! Of all the home automation videos I watch, yours is one of the few I look forward to the most!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you very much. I appreciate it.
chuck becker
chuck becker Month ago
I concur.
WB Fine Woodworking With Don Bullock
WB Fine Woodworking With Don Bullock Month ago
Now I have to wait for Wyze to get some V3 cameras in stock.
1000rr
1000rr Month ago
I tried to wait for wyze v3 to come back in stock. But I ended up scoring a deal on two individual eufy cam 2c kits four cameras two base stations for $380 shipped. Don't know what I'm going to do with the extra base station.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Cool.. I know.. Eufy need to work on integration so that you can use the other base station as an extender..
athloneduke
athloneduke Month ago
Well done on your 100k subscribers
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you so much 😀
Dan
Dan Month ago
I bought one just to try it out. Works great for indoors, not so good for outdoors. I think it’s overpriced especially when you factor in the expensive Wyze shipping cost. I most likely won’t buy anymore of these. I also don’t like that Wyze didn’t clean up the cable and that they’re still using micro USB.
DonCesar Blogs
DonCesar Blogs Month ago
@cameraz99 most of the people are very picky and want everything with the best quality but want to pay cheap prices... Not also with the best quality, also with long term warranty... There are others that offer this same option but they don't want those, they want this but with their specific customization...
Dan
Dan Month ago
@cameraz99 I wasn’t talking about their cameras, I was talking about their $10 Spotlight kit. But any camera can be placed behind a window and pick up motion, as long as it doesn’t use a PIR motion sensor. And others will alert you to sounds, like a smoke detector.
cameraz99
cameraz99 Month ago
What other company sells a security camera for 20 bucks, plus 5 bucks shipping? And you don't have to pay for a base station! And I love that you can place the camera *inside* a window and still capture motion, and that it will alert me if my smoke detector goes off. Overpriced? Hardly.
Gary Sumlin
Gary Sumlin Month ago
Why didn't you do the notifications because its slow as shit
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Their basic notifications without the Cam Plus subscription is faster.
cameraz99
cameraz99 Month ago
Actually, my notifications got a lot faster when I went into the app and clicked on Settings/Advanced Settings/Sync Time. I'm seeing a big improvement.
Gary Sumlin
Gary Sumlin Month ago
So far my yi kami kills the v3
Jordan S.
Jordan S. Month ago
Great video! When I am able to order another V3 I will get a spotlight for it so that the color night vision is better.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thanks.
Bob Smith
Bob Smith Month ago
Hey you had a serious ORB fly over your head at 5:52 to 5:57 - check it out on your video - that was awesome
Bob Smith
Bob Smith Month ago
@LifeHackster That 100% for sure was not dust - google dust vs ORBS on cameras - love your reviews by the way.....
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Lol.. my house is dusty... I need to run my Wyze Robot Vacuum..
Taiho Santelices
Taiho Santelices Month ago
Awesome review. cant wait to receive my add on spotlights……da best ka talaga kabayan…..from MD
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Salamat...
Tech Nerd
Tech Nerd Month ago
I think if they offered an nearly invisible IR spotlight to light up the shadows, I would get one.
Luyz Qint
Luyz Qint Month ago
I wonder when they are going to update the zone detection, what they have now (on Wyze v3) is horrible. I read that the v2 an the other outdoor cam received the update. It makes no sense to me that the new camera has not received it yet.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
I know.. and they did have it when I first reviewed this camera (beta firmware) together with their HD max setting..I'm hoping they will add and update it soon.
da Mana
da Mana Month ago
Didn’t see much difference between the “Low/High” settings of the spotlight when used inside of ur home. But I like what it does outdoors. I just received my v3’s, so maybe I’ll try one of those spotlights (or 2). Thanks for the Vid! 🤙🏼
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you.
Paul Miyagishima
Paul Miyagishima Month ago
For the price, wyze is a great choice. The light is a lot brighter than I thought it would be. I do think the next generation will have a built in light as well as the other manufacturers putting in their own lights. That is what got me to buy the Lorex 4k cameras. The lights act as a deterrent for anyone up to no good. Thanks again and stay warm!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you.
sniperking305
sniperking305 Month ago
When will you be getting the ubiquity Video Doorbell :(
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
I know... we will see.
joseph puchel
joseph puchel Month ago
Hey Looks better for outside use. Excellent update video
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you.
Barbara Traslavina
Barbara Traslavina Month ago
Thanks been watching your videos for awhile! Thanks again for sharing this with us 😊😊Lots of Love Bobbi 😇
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
You are so welcome
Akira
Akira Month ago
Wyze should just go ahead and make v4 that includes spotlight and has 2K or 4K video when we are having chip shortage
Akira
Akira Month ago
How come the video quality look so bad.. I was under the impression that it's pretty good.
Dan Glecier
Dan Glecier Month ago
I thought that too. My videos look much sharper. Audio recording is still bad.
Rush Videos
Rush Videos Month ago
Tye v3 model was dubbed as a better low light camera but seems still needs a lot of light.
Akira
Akira Month ago
Still waiting in line for v3 to be in stock
anh dep trai
anh dep trai Month ago
I don’t like the messy cable design. Will wait for integration version later!
Michael Hughes
Michael Hughes Month ago
It would have been nice to know at what distance the spotlight turns on, and if there a difference between the high and low settings. Also how much it assists you to see as a standalone light.
Michael Hughes
Michael Hughes Month ago
@LifeHackster thank you 😁
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
It get triggered when the camera senses motion (pixel based) so depending on the sensitivity you set, you can set it to trigger to any movement in the camera's FOV. The spotlight is only 70 lumens, not really that bright to be a standalone light.
DonCesar Blogs
DonCesar Blogs Month ago
Thanks for your review video, always helpful, i like the way you make your point, always neutral, and congratulations for reaching the 100K, you are one of the best, honest and with good knowledge youtuber tech reviewer.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you so much 🙂
Asy4life-67
Asy4life-67 Month ago
I do not like the picture quality of the camera? but I think it can be used in a location where you only want to monitor without the need for great details.
CrazyRiGuy
CrazyRiGuy Month ago
The camera is $20 what are you expecting lol
MBisFrenchy
MBisFrenchy Month ago
As we get closer to $45 you might as well get the amcrest 5mp Turret with a true low light sensor and a microphone.
SilicaSkynet
SilicaSkynet 29 days ago
which one? link?
GrandmaHatesTech
GrandmaHatesTech Month ago
Congratulations on reaching 100K. I am right behind you!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank You.
GrandmaHatesTech
GrandmaHatesTech Month ago
@joshx413 You didn't make it 99,877? :(
joshx413
joshx413 Month ago
Only 99,878 to go!
Chris
Chris Month ago
The audio on the Wyze cams trigger me every time I hear them.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
They need to improve it.
lupitas vlog
lupitas vlog Month ago
Hi, which security camara (spotlight)do you suggest cold -3and hot 🔥 temperatures 115. Thank you
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Wired spotlight cameras like what Michael said (Reolink Lumus) or the EZVIZ C3X
Michael Hughes
Michael Hughes Month ago
Reolink Lumus, but 14 F to 122 F is its range. The speed that the app shows live view really impresses me every time compared to my other security camera brands.
Michael N.
Michael N. Month ago
This would be best for indoors
Auroramystic
Auroramystic Month ago
3:40 I’m comsermed of the longevity of the camera they should make the part near the camera of it more thicker like a plug
Auroramystic
Auroramystic Month ago
The cable design is kind of bad
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Wyze got in touch with me and they will be checking it out and see if it is bad batch or they need a redesign.
Auroramystic
Auroramystic Month ago
Nice review!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Glad you enjoyed it
Auroramystic
Auroramystic Month ago
Will u review the kangaroo doorbell camera plz
Zuhair Hlayel
Zuhair Hlayel Month ago
💐🌷🥀🌹🌺🌸💐👍
Giovanni Turco
Giovanni Turco Month ago
Hi just waiting for my wyze spotlight to be delivered to me on the UK our postal service Royal Mail in the UK have received it now waiting to be delivered to me it’s nice people like me have American address Wyze can deliver they products to then get shipped to the UK I do have 3 Wyze V3 cameras I was one of the people who pre-ordered them love the wyze doorbell and the headphones and the thermostat pre-ordered the wyze Watch and the Wyze Home Monitoring I went for the Annual subscription really got for free keep up the good work I never miss any of your video’s
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Thank you Giovanni... still waiting for the wyze doorbell..
Picardo gaming
Picardo gaming Month ago
5:35 you can't really see the face
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
The color recording of the V3 is a bit washed out and soft even in low setting mode..
Michael Hughes
Michael Hughes Month ago
It's not great, is it? Much better at 6:45, but it's not in color.
KnightOf LightOfficial
KnightOf LightOfficial Month ago
I guess this wouldn't be a good option for v3s facing outside from a window
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Nope but you can install motion solar lights outside the window which I did made a video a while back -> usposts.info/vision/p57Kvc3QqqRrp9Q/video
Akira
Akira Month ago
you should just use starlight and turn IR off. (IR light will reflect off the glass) you basically don't want any light from inside reflecting off the glass and making the glass into a mirror... aka camera looking at a mirror, recording itself.
DonCesar Blogs
DonCesar Blogs Month ago
No, for that the best idea will be to use "outdoor ir lights" , this won't bright like white but will improve the quality a lot, but to install them on the exterior where do you want to have a better vision.
Ron M
Ron M Month ago
Thanks.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
You're welcome
Jared Salem
Jared Salem Month ago
I wish I was more like the Swan the video just seems so noisy and artifacting on the inside shot on low and the spotlight doesn't seem brighten enough for the outside
DonCesar Blogs
DonCesar Blogs Month ago
I get your point, but you always have to take in consideration the price, the target that they have when they create this cam, is not a bad product, but is not for picky people in the Beverly Hills type of neighborhood with a Lambo car in the parking hehehe... We all had wishes, if the company offers a list of the option that you want in "your product" the price will be real high, then people will also complain "i wish that this customization be more cheaper etc etc"
speedlever
speedlever Month ago
Still waiting to be notified when the V3 becomes available. Thought that was supposed to be in January 2021.
speedlever
speedlever Month ago
@DonCesar Blogs They wouldn’t sell me a single V3 without bundling CAM+. I tried. But CAM+ also adds functionality that I would have thought would be standard too.
speedlever
speedlever Month ago
@DonCesar Blogs Thanks. I figured for $10, the price for the SD card was reasonable (checked Amazon too). Guess I’ll just have to get used to the sector as regards CAM+. The annual price per camera seems steep to me. Maybe it’s like cheap printers with high priced consumables. Pay me now or pay me later...
DonCesar Blogs
DonCesar Blogs Month ago
@speedlever I got like 10 of them but I bought 1 cam plus 1st and then 3 cameras, then 3 cameras and now k ordered 3... I have been buying the cam plus one at the time, is not really a rush if you don't want to, neither the SD card, it will work without SD card and without the Cam Plus, every month or every 2 month when they have stock and I had saved the money, I made my purchases hehehe.
DonCesar Blogs
DonCesar Blogs Month ago
@speedlever the sd card is not really required now, in the meantime you will save your videos in the cloud I think for 30 days or so, the SD card is in case you want to keep your files local, instead of in the cloud. Believe Me, I am not trying to get them clients, I do not work for them but for the price vs quality, is a good product for starters. I hope you enjoy your product.
speedlever
speedlever Month ago
@DonCesar Blogs Understood. Since I am just trying it out, I'm not looking to spend a lot. And the initial price of $19.99 has now become $56 after adding in a 32GB microSD card, CAM+, plus shipping and tax. I'm just glad I wasn't buying 10 of them. ;)
LiNy Car Videos
LiNy Car Videos Month ago
I actually bought this. It works great but not needed for outdoor because of how great the v3 is (starlight sensor) now as a motion light it works as intended
LiNy Car Videos
LiNy Car Videos Month ago
cameraz99 ahh ok please keep us posted
cameraz99
cameraz99 Month ago
@LiNy Car Videos -- Unfortunately, I have three Wyze Cam V3s and motion *does not* trigger the siren in any of them. I have a support ticket ongoing with Wyze about this. Several other people on the Wyze forums have complained about the same thing.
LiNy Car Videos
LiNy Car Videos Month ago
Michael Hughes I agree also believe the siren plays a big part in that as well!
Michael Hughes
Michael Hughes Month ago
But like what Lifehackster says, it's a deterrent to would-be thieves to know that they're under surveillance and the property owner has been notified of their presence.
DaBestPilot
DaBestPilot Month ago
Hi LifeHackster, I just had a question! If I wanted a security camera system that is wire-free and has a good battery life which system would you recommend (should also be somewhat affordable) I am debating between the eufy 1 and eufy e, any ideas? Also it is preferable if the company has a smart doorbell! Thanks so much :)
DaBestPilot
DaBestPilot Month ago
@LifeHackster Would the base be able to handle like 10 cams (with doorbell)? I heard issues with the amount of cams supported this is why i was looking at the eufy 1 or e!
Dan
Dan Month ago
@LifeHackster at some point I'm going to check Eufy out. But I've already spent too much money on ReoLink Argus st generation cameras and Wyze cameras. lol
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
Eufy would be the better choice for battery power without paying for subscription and they do have a video doorbell too. Eufy Cam 2C would be the affordable one.
Dan
Dan Month ago
@DaBestPilot personally I’m not a fan of Ring products, but not because of any perceived privacy issues. I’m just not a fan of subscription based products.
DaBestPilot
DaBestPilot Month ago
@Dan no specific proof, but if you just search ring privacy or ring problems on google or yt you'll find several people saying things like that. Please do not take me as official proof or changing your idea of the product, was just saying my opinion :)
TypicalBlox
TypicalBlox Month ago
Review wyze cam outdoor again, It got custom motion zones ( with beta app at least ) and the notifications are wayyyy faster.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster Month ago
I will.. I have to check it out again...
SoundsRight
SoundsRight Month ago
True. I’m using it right now and liking it !
Wyze Cam v3: Unbelievable Night Vision for $20
07:39
The Sheetrock is DONE!!!!!
16:39
OffTheRanch
Views 1.1M
FC Porto vs. Chelsea: Extended Highlights | UCL on CBS Sports
8:29
Wyze Cam V3 Complete Setup Guide!
07:07
The Sheetrock is DONE!!!!!
16:39
OffTheRanch
Views 1.1M
FC Porto vs. Chelsea: Extended Highlights | UCL on CBS Sports
8:29
I Am The World’s Greatest Magician
0:13
IMPOSTERS! April Fools Pranks!
14:16
Ninja Kidz TV
Views 8M