Wyze Robot Vacuum Review - Unboxing, Features, Setup, Testing

  Views 19,812

LifeHackster

2 months ago

Today, we are going to check and test out the new Wyze Robot Vacuum. One of wyze's multiple product launches that they did before the end of 2020. So, we will the the unboxing, check out its features, set it up, check out the settings in the app and let this robot vacuum run around my tile, wood and some carpet flooring in my house and see if this automated robot vacuum cleaner will be your next purchase in your smart home.
Also note that this is my first time checking out a roomba type vacuum cleaner and this is mostly going to be based in my first user experience.
00:00 Introduction
01:18 Features
02:28 Unboxing
03:27 Setup
05:14 Wyze Robot Vacuum initial mapping and cleaning
05:49 Battery Life
06:09 Vacuum cleaning results
06:48 Settings in the App
09:00 Important Feature request
09:22 Vacuum suction testing (cheerios and salt test)
12:49 Dust Bin Removal and cleaning
14:17 Final Thoughts
Wyze Robot Vacuum - bit.ly/35W8IYV
#lifehackster #wyzerobotvacuum #wyzevacuum
Shop WiFi Security Cameras - www.amazon.com/shop/lifehackster
Checkout the FitHackster Channel - bit.ly/2DIC020
My Camera/Studio Gear - kit.co/lifehackster/video-creation-kit
Don't forget to sign up for Sale notifications @ lifehackster.com
- enter your email on the right upper corner - Join Notification List
Lifehackster is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com
I may earn a small commission for the review, recommendation, testimonial, and/or link to any products or services from this video.

Comments
Harley Miles
Harley Miles 23 hours ago
Have it BUT I can’t split the rooms the way I want.
TheOnlyGHOST1015
TheOnlyGHOST1015 10 days ago
Looks pretty sweet to me and if that statement is true 90% of your viewers are not subscribed that's messed up come on guys show him some love
Therkel Lorenzen
Therkel Lorenzen 23 days ago
I want one so bad but they dont deliver outside the united states...
VWFam
VWFam 23 days ago
can you save multiple maps if you have a multi level house? or the maps has to be resetted everytime the vaccum is in the different floors?
Wala L
Wala L 24 days ago
I think Wyze should focus on their “affordable” security and surveillance, I really wish they had a Dash cam I can’t believe they’ve made (or rebranded) so many things but haven’t dont a dash cam
fishlanding
fishlanding 24 days ago
nice review, was happy to see the contents of the vacuums collector, would like to have heard about you wife's opinion..... overall I don't think I'm ready for one of these.... when the battery gives up the ghost you are sol, I can still plug in my electric vac after many years of use..... when I'm older than now this might be a good trade off to sweeping and manual vacuuming, cheers
Chad D
Chad D 29 days ago
where is the spinning side brush?
Bill Kline
Bill Kline Month ago
We have had an i7 iRobot for quite some time and now just added this Wyze to vacuum our first floor. The mapping has been updated since the review, you can now split rooms, merge rooms, name rooms, etc. I am impressed with the suction power, the speed, and the noise level. No complaints at all so far. We have a mix of hardwood with some area rugs and a vinyl kitchen floor. i can see how the indentations for the tile would be problematic and would be interested to see if the Wyze team come up with a solution. The mapping of the Wyze is superior to the pricier i7 from Roomba and the speed of it is way, way faster. for the price, this is a great value
anekinoo7
anekinoo7 Month ago
Looks like a roborock vac. Even the app looks nearly identical.
A Rosado
A Rosado Month ago
I love my vacuum. Go to the settings and you can change the robot's name. You can also edit the map. You can split room 4 into various rooms. You can also name them. Mine cleans on high 3 tumes a day. It works fine for me. If it gets stuck it lets you know. It does not get stuck much.
Dewayne Hugh
Dewayne Hugh Month ago
Did he not attach the circular brush for the salt and Cheerio section?
Thomas Ott
Thomas Ott Month ago
After viewing several USposts reviews of the Wyze Robot Vacuum and seeing that most reviewers use Cheerios or Fruit Loops for their testing, I should purchase stock in Kellogg's and General Mills.
Kate Duncan
Kate Duncan Month ago
Thanks, I couldn't figure out how to open the dust bin! Mine has cleaned three times. Impressed with amount of pick up in two cleanings. One challenge: getting it connected wifi - it still has not connected. Will try again to get updates and use more features. Vacuum DOES recharge and return to last site to finish the job. As LifeHackster indicated, it's great for the chunks between serious vacuuming.
Jesse R
Jesse R Month ago
any new robot vacuums to compare to?
Ms K
Ms K Month ago
BUYERS BEWARE What this company is doing with their "pre order sales" mirrors a pyramid scheme. I literally had to go to my financial institution to get my $ back after waiting for over 3 months for a preorder. They lied about when and how items were sent. I wanted to love them as I did like my first cameras even though there is a HUGE delay on notifications. But I cant get past their dIshonesty. Save yourself a huge headache and purchase a diff system.
InHarmony
InHarmony Month ago
How does it do with hair?
carol stalder
carol stalder 2 months ago
I need to know how to clear the map and start over. At this point, WYze support is less than sufficient. I was told to push “remap” but can’t find that anywhere on the app.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Gear icon on the upper right corner (settings) and scroll a bit down...reset map.
Bryan Riggs
Bryan Riggs 2 months ago
You get what you pay for ;)
CrazyMoFo
CrazyMoFo 2 months ago
I haven’t tried the “return to finish” vacuuming part of the Vac yet but quick question, when the Vac goes out to clean and needs to return to charge before it is finished cleaning will it automatically go out and finish cleaning or do you have to tell it to?
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
It will automatically go back to where it left off and finish the cleaning... You don't have to do anything.
Bruce Hall
Bruce Hall 2 months ago
Another great review so professional and very informative. I have seen a few other reviews on the Wyze vacuum and they have been less then good at talking about all the features and whether the vacuum did a good job. It seems that it does have some problems with crevices. I have seen from another review that does mainly robot vacuums that some robot vacuums do a much better job. Though I believe the cost a little more then Wyze..
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Thank you. I appreciate it.
Tony Lemont
Tony Lemont 2 months ago
a horrible speaking and channel. Fake 900k subs stop this stupid shit.
stlstg
stlstg 2 months ago
That's a good price for the Wyze. I have the Roborock and it includes almost all of the same functions and I love it. I connected it to my Alexa, and now I just tell Alexa if I need her to vacuum the kitchen.
bao3108
bao3108 2 months ago
This is basically a rebrand Roborock, even the voice notification is the same
Matthew Rasmussen
Matthew Rasmussen 2 months ago
That would be a good thing then, right?
Michael N.
Michael N. 2 months ago
Eufy has a robot vacuum too. Would you test that?
Poisonplayer
Poisonplayer 2 months ago
Amazing vid
Powernoodle
Powernoodle 2 months ago
I couldn't get my Wyze robot vac to connect to the interweb, so I am returning it. This is a known issue. But I do love Wyze products generally, especially the Cam v3, and their customer service is first rate. The Wyze vac is not ready for prime time.
CrazyMoFo
CrazyMoFo 2 months ago
I had some trouble of the first of our two Wyze Vacs (one for upstairs and one for downstairs) however it was due to the fact that I was using the 5G portion of my WiFi and it can only connect on the 2.4G side of the router! Once I switched my phone/iPad over to using the 2.4Ghz side of my router it connected immediately and I’ve had no issues since!
Nerdy Rican
Nerdy Rican 2 months ago
Where is the spinning side brush? It was there for a few seconds in the video and then it was gone
William James
William James 2 months ago
This vacuum is awesome. I was pleasantly surprised. This is my first robotic vacuum. The setup was really easy. This my first wi-fi device that set up the first time out of the box. It cleans really good. Wyze has made a really good product at a reasonable price. The app works really well. No regrets with this purchase.
Mark Spencer Sarvida
Mark Spencer Sarvida 2 months ago
Pilipino kaba sir?
Underdogrides
Underdogrides 2 months ago
I’m wondering if the problem it had picking up the salt was because the vacuum was pretty full already.
rolrod85
rolrod85 2 months ago
Great video! But, why didn't you install the edge brush for the cheerios and salt demonstration?
Woddi Woddi
Woddi Woddi 2 months ago
looks exactly like the first generation of the Xiaomi Mi Robot, even the buttons....
Auroramystic
Auroramystic Month ago
That’s because it’s is but just rebadged and just jammed their own software
Karson McCarthy
Karson McCarthy Month ago
I think it is. That’s what Wyze does, rebrands them
The Huguenot
The Huguenot 2 months ago
Is the battery replaceable?
JB Dragon
JB Dragon 2 months ago
Not that I'm aware of.
The Huguenot
The Huguenot 2 months ago
I bet that's why some of the vacuums have those little brushes on the side that spin. In order to dig up the salt between tiles.
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 2 months ago
Did you preorder the wyze hand vaccum
Rockaland2
Rockaland2 2 months ago
I have the new Wyze vacuum and i have to say thanks for this video.. I actually learn alot more that this vacuum can do from this video.. 1: didn't know you can click on a room to spot clean that room 2: that little handy tool on the bot . My personal tips is when you get this wyze product make sure you do 2 things.. if it is OS make sure you update your iPhone then update the wyze app and the firmware.. I had issues with the battery draining or not charging so after the update it worked better.. 2nd make sure you put base station on a flat non carpet surface so the bot can charge better . it has a hard time charging on a carpet surface.. after i moved mine it and did updates it works well. Ok now to compare to my Eufy G30 Edge. the Eufy gets stuck alot if you have alot of things in the floor .. clear the floor out and it will run with very little issues.. to save the battery for long term set only to clean 3 x a week.. I also have a roborock S6 Max which is a full feature vacuum /mopping . it rarely get stucks.. mops decent , and you can use it like a Rc car and watch it roll around your home with a camera that you control.. its like a video game.. so if your not home and it gets stuck.. turn on camera and remote and just move it out of harmsway.. so between the 3 Eufy is very solid but try to buy it on a discount day.. roborock is very good with cool features but the dust tank is small. eufy one is bigger.. if i have to say for the money if i could do it all over again i think the wyze has better features then eufy G30 EDGE , works better, has lIdor, better maps and bigger dust bin its a bargin .. The roborock is better in alot of waze except the dust bin.. its too small.. mopping is decent but the mop rag gets real nasty and is hard to clean after first use.. you have to keep buying more mop pads.. Over all i think the wyze is a great bargain which i know they will make better.
Royale High Gamer
Royale High Gamer 2 months ago
When someone is lazy Vacuuming the house: *buys a Vacuum robot* yay I can do nothing all day :D
Tennislover1990
Tennislover1990 2 months ago
You still have to use your regular vacuum but you can use it for in between cleaning
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
:)
Beatman 1
Beatman 1 2 months ago
Are they any good with pet hair?
Tennislover1990
Tennislover1990 2 months ago
I have a dog and it gets up dog hair pretty well.
TheJerry1946
TheJerry1946 2 months ago
Have a rumba and it is great that cat here sold up every day you use it
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I can't say.. no pets here.. I think it will vacuum/sweep hair effectively in wood or tile floors and I'm not sure about if it is in the carpet.
Dave Fraser
Dave Fraser 2 months ago
I find it strange that it doesn't clean room at a time, like my Roborock. It goes round the entire outline of the floor and then crosses between rooms. It's annoying because it'll come back into a room many times to clean it. Weird.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
They released the map editing update and now I can split the map into smaller areas and the vacuum will just clean that area.
Curtis B
Curtis B 2 months ago
@13:32 I assume that cutter is to cut hair that gets wrapped around brush. Hair tangle is normal part of vacuum tests on sites like vacuumwars and most do poorly for longer hair.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I think it is.
z1z2z3z4z1z2
z1z2z3z4z1z2 2 months ago
i like my wyze products cant beat the price for what you get.... but.... it always feels like you are beta testing the products, they are always needing twinking, resetting, brick occasionally, lacking reliability, some basic features to make them a real competitor for the big more expensive brands.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I agree...they do need frequent updates..
Lance
Lance 2 months ago
I love that they offered this, I pre-ordered and I'm so happy with it. As you said it's not perfect but it is extremely good compared to not doing anything. I have two small kids with small toys everywhere, we pick up but it is able to navigate around toys and things we miss and it does not get stuck. This was issues with previous robotic vacuums. If you don't want to spend $5,6,700 dollars this is highly recommended.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Totally agree!
tech_gear
tech_gear 2 months ago
Making me wish I waited on buying my $200 Eufy 15c Max LOL. A Lidar robo vacuum for under $200 seems like a no brainer.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
@tech_gear I might..will see.
tech_gear
tech_gear 2 months ago
@LifeHackster Any plans to compare them to other robo vacs?
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Yes, it is pretty affordable for a Lidar featured vacuum.
Rod Robinson
Rod Robinson 2 months ago
Thanks for the video. When I’m in the market for a vacuum like this, I will make sure to keep this one in mind. Your video helped a lot. Keep these awesome videos coming, they are very helpful.
Chris Madison
Chris Madison 2 months ago
There are better robot vacuums out there, might cost more.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Glad it was helpful!
Willow Moon Wolf
Willow Moon Wolf 2 months ago
Best intro ever !!!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Thank You.
Jokes Yay
Jokes Yay 2 months ago
Map editing just released today.
Jokes Yay
Jokes Yay 2 months ago
@LifeHackster it is AWESOME by the way.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Yes. I got mine updated.
Russ Hampton
Russ Hampton 2 months ago
Just a couple of comments... I’d be interested to see whether the salt would have been picked up if you had emptied the bin prior to your test (including removing the hepa filter and cleaning the screen - the instructions mention that as one use for the brush). Also, as mentioned in at least one other comment, Map Editing was just released to the production app/firmware. I have been using the editor in the beta app and it works pretty well... you can merge rooms, split rooms, and rename rooms (and I’m pretty sure additional functionality will be added over time). The current Map Editor limitations include not being able to rotate the entire map to better align with walls (which would optimize cleaning, since the path follows the grid lines) and not being able to split rooms using a point on the map... you are restricted to connecting known boundaries, such as walls. I’d like to se an updated review, now that Map Editing is available... as I agree that was a major shortcoming in the initial release of the vacuum.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
The salt test is actually the second test and I already filmed emptying the bin... My first test was just the cheerios..I did empty the bin before testing the cheerios and salt test. There was an update (map editing) after the video was uploaded. I will probably do an update or comparison video in the near future.
Im Trying
Im Trying 2 months ago
So I don't have a Robot Vac, but I'm very intrigued. Is that normal for grout areas to not get cleaned like in your salt test? (I guess this is more for those that have other vacuums)
The Tango
The Tango 2 months ago
The most impressive thing is how little the vacuum picked up - You must keep a very clean home. But for the Vacuum - throw down a few objects to test the "obstacle avoidance" that is on the vacuum. Its pretty bad. I think that since the "LiDAR" is located at the very back of the unit, it is blind to small things that on the floor. Better to spend a little more and get a top brand (like RoboRock). Considering how almost all Wyze pretty much suck - they should be great a a vacuum .
Chris Madison
Chris Madison 2 months ago
Lidar is used for navigation, nothing to do with stuff on the floor.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I have to check that brand out. Thanks.
Ron M
Ron M 2 months ago
Looks like a fairly decent vacuum. Thanks for sharing.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Thanks.
pklemm1
pklemm1 2 months ago
I have one. I love it! Very helpful around the house.
Anthony Korbyn
Anthony Korbyn 13 days ago
@Roman Conner Whoa! Took roughly 10 mins but it actually worked!!
Roman Conner
Roman Conner 13 days ago
not sure if anyone gives a shit but last night I hacked my friends Instagram password by using Instapwn. Cant link here so search for it on google if you wanna try it yourself
Chester Copperpot
Chester Copperpot 2 months ago
All new robot vacuums need to be Thread enabled, especially the automatic emptying bins.
Nicolas Ciampaglia
Nicolas Ciampaglia 2 months ago
What exactly is Thread? I’ve heard of it before
Paul DiSalvo
Paul DiSalvo 2 months ago
Map/room editing is here in the firmware update released yesterday (the 18th)!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Yes, I updated it after the video went live...
Emilio Caballero upNYlawn
Emilio Caballero upNYlawn 2 months ago
Thanks for another great review!! I think we'll stick to the classic vacuum for the time being, but for the price it looks worth it. Regards!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Thank you.
damasterg
damasterg 2 months ago
Would having the cleaning brush installed help with picking up the salt?
damasterg
damasterg 2 months ago
@LifeHackster thank you for understanding and taking time to research about my comment. I got my wyze vacuum the day before you posted your video. Keep the great videos coming.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
@damasterg - I apologize...I checked the vacuum and indeed, it is missing the edge brush. I looked around and it got removed, got stuck? under a furniture but I did this test several times and I did have a footage of the first time I did it but it is not the one I include in this video..anyways, the results are the same. Salt remained in the grout lines. I'll probably post that video separately and will sticky a comment or update the description. Thank you for pointing it out.
damasterg
damasterg 2 months ago
@LifeHackster you installed the edge brush earlier, but when you did the salt and Cheerios test I did not see the edge brush installed.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I did install it.
Clell Britt
Clell Britt 2 months ago
Just like Wyze they recycled the product from Xiaomi. I have the Roborock S4 and have loved it for the past year. It has all the features that you are requesting, but at a much higher price than Wyze. The good thing for me is that if the parts are truly interchangeable, maybe the Wyze parts will be cheaper too. I also think the Roborock can clean more on 1 charge based on your vid. Thanks for the review, but I'm glad I got the Roborock.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I have to check out that brand. Thanks.
Niranjan Bendre
Niranjan Bendre 2 months ago
They have a room editor update now. And in the beta they also have quick remapping which takes very less time. I use that tool in my neato d7 (which I love) to cut out hair from the roller brush.
Niranjan Bendre
Niranjan Bendre 2 months ago
@LifeHackster thanks! :)
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Yes, they did an update with map editing..I'll do an update video on this..will see.
Niranjan Bendre
Niranjan Bendre 2 months ago
@Auroramystic hello!
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 2 months ago
Hi!
TypicalBlox
TypicalBlox 2 months ago
Try out the new Roborock s7
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I have to check it out..probably a comparison video..
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 2 months ago
Do you mean it sucks as in it can suck things or suck as in it’s bad
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 2 months ago
@LifeHackster get it because it’s a vaccum and vaccum sucks things
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Either...no..it is actually a cool product and it does suck/clean but mostly for light cleaning.
fhpd350
fhpd350 2 months ago
Yes.
djkoolkatnsatx
djkoolkatnsatx 2 months ago
Dude I've been looking at a bunch of different robo vacs since last week thank you for the great user review
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
No problem!
Tee Jay
Tee Jay 2 months ago
This for the vid. Was thinking of getting this
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 2 months ago
I think wyze should stop expanding their products and just focus on just making them better you know quality over quantity
Unknown Person
Unknown Person Month ago
Wyze is just too cheap to sustain for long imo.
A Rosado
A Rosado Month ago
They are revolutionizing the smart home. I want more stuff, not less
Fish
Fish Month ago
@Jaime Colon sorry i terrible making decisions
Jaime Colon
Jaime Colon Month ago
@Fish no one is throwing hate. Commenting on my experiences and my opinion. They have been in business since 2017 and as I mentioned the cameras are good. Sensors, smart bulbs, motion sensors, smart watch not so good. Always dropping connections or battery issues. Customer support is lacking as they take long to respond and then when they do it’s the normal basic troubleshooting and then you wait again days for another response. Maybe works great for others but that’s not my experience. I want them to succeed and perhaps they need to slow it down a bit and master 2 to 3 items at a time so that customers are happy and willing to buy more of the products. Past history dictates future sales.
Fish
Fish Month ago
you know they still new company so we shouldn’t throw a hate
BigJames83
BigJames83 2 months ago
Looks like a knock off of my roborock
BigJames83
BigJames83 2 months ago
@tech_gear false. I got my s4 on sale for 329. Wyze is stating they will be regular 249. Cheaper yes 1/4 the price? Maybe if you get the top end one.
tech_gear
tech_gear 2 months ago
Just a quarter the price.
Paul Calabrese
Paul Calabrese 2 months ago
Great intro🤣🤣🤣
Giovanni Turco
Giovanni Turco 2 months ago
Hi thanks video again can you let me know what is the voltage will it work in the UK before I ordered it to my American address then getting it shipped to the UK
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
The power adapter is 100-240 volts.
Picardo gaming
Picardo gaming 2 months ago
Wyze is trying to get out there and be a big company
Auroramystic
Auroramystic 2 months ago
@LifeHackster I think they should slow done because their new products just dosent feel complete
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
They want do it in a hurry... :)
Picardo gaming
Picardo gaming 2 months ago
This is pretty cooo
Neil
Neil 2 months ago
My Xiaomi vacuum is name Xena. Xena the cleaner! Probably the best gizmo I've ever bought. If it failed I'd buy another immediately.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
I have to check that brand out. Thanks.
Owen
Owen 2 months ago
Great video! Can it do multi floor mapping?
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Not at this time.. but I think they will add it in an update soon.
Mason 美生
Mason 美生 2 months ago
Can’t wait for their $20 smart watch to come out. But yeah, I’ll skip on this vacuum.
Neil
Neil 2 months ago
Looks a lot like the Xiaomi one? With the Xiaomi app though, you can draw regions/zones to clean which is great. So drop some cereal in the corner of a kitchen? Draw a box on the map and do a zone clean. Done!
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
They did an update with map editing and I can split areas and zones for the vacuum. Hoping they will add customizable cleaning zones in the future.
Brady LePage
Brady LePage 2 months ago
Nice video! I believe that map editing will come soon if it isn’t already in the newest firmware.
LifeHackster
LifeHackster 2 months ago
Yes..it was. I did update after the video was posted. Thank you.
damasterg
damasterg 2 months ago
I had to update my wyze app on the play store and now I see the map editor.
damasterg
damasterg 2 months ago
I haven't seen the map editing yet on mine.
Wyze in depth Robot Vacuum Review
46:30
Making a log carving robot
21:56
Stuff Made Here
Views 2.7M
Best VACUUMS of CES 2021 - Vacuum Wars!
06:54
Feeding a City in Need
4:19
Beast Philanthropy
Views 3.8M
The Final Goodbye.
11:44
Brawadis
Views 717K
If Among Us Had 0 Impostors
1:07
Shiloh & Bros
Views 1.8M